Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Tonawanda, NY
Students enrolled: 247
 

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Cardinal O Hara High School 5

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
There is only one place like Cardinal O'Hara Large enought , but small . Excellent academic envirnmert and student particapation This school is as close to a family as a school can get.

Cardinal O Hara High School 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
This is my son's 2nd year at COHS and although we were a little apprehensive about coming to the school, (but we also knew we didn't want an extra large all boys school either) it turned out to be an excellent choice. All faculty is accessible and seems to know all the students by name. I didn't think I would like a co-ed school, but he came from a co-ed elementary school, so it was an easy transition. The school is the cleanest high school I have ever seen and the administration seems to genuinely care.


Cardinal O Hara High School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
I am a current parent of a student at this school and i am very impressed with the over all school. My son is a junior and although he plays football for the school, he also is aware that academics are of the utmost importance and he definitely is gaining knowledge.

Cardinal O Hara High School 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a community member
School academics should not be rated by sports. This school is improving the sports program as funds dictate. A new association with the Niagara Regional Theater Guild will enhance the performing arts genre' for this school COH is and will continue to offer the best programs it can to it's students and faculty today and in the future.

Cardinal O Hara High School 4

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
Great school! needs more variety in Sports. Would like to see wrestling,hockey,weight training, archery, golf....something besides the standard football,baseball,basketball. Sports is such a big thing for kids now I think alot of kids are lost to the school because of this


Cardinal O Hara High School 4

Posted August 21, 2006
- a parent
O'Hara has a very nice group of students, a nice learning atmosphere, the school is very clean and the teachers are very good. Academics are above average, while sports are only so-so. It is not cheap to go here, but good morals and respect are taught very well. I like that the girls and boys learn in seperate classrooms in the lower grades. I'd give the school a B with a possible B+ on the horizon.

Cardinal O Hara High School 5

Posted January 07, 2006
- a parent
Cardinal O'Hara is one of the greatest high schools in the WNY area. It has small class sizes which ensures that each individual student is given the chance to ask questions and receive the help that he/she needs. The art and music program have blossomed of late and the athletic program has made a quantum leap to excellence. Particularly impressive are the passing rates on the NYS Regents exams. On the English exam last year, 95% of those taking the exam passed and 55% received a grade of 85% or higher which is the mastery level. Cardinal O'Hara's dedicated faculty ensure that each student will be challenged to reach for excellence and to attain it through hard work.

Cardinal O Hara High School 4

Posted December 14, 2005
- a student
This is a great school for those seeking a co-educational catholic high school. They offer a wide range of activities from school plays and drama club to sports as well as national honor society. They strive to have every child achieve the best grades possible. The offer ap classes and regents diplomas. They are unique because students are well rounded with the incorporation of religion classes and religious activities. All in all when my kids are ready for high school this is where they are going!


Cardinal O Hara High School 5

Posted November 03, 2004
- a student
An excellent school to go to. I suggest going to the school and taking a tour, talking to the staff and teachers!

Cardinal O Hara High School 4

Posted December 02, 2003
- a parent
All three of my children have enjoyed and made the most of their Cardinal O'Hara high school experience. While being involved in many extracurricular activities, they have made life-long friendships. And though participation in sports was not a determining factor in our decision, they have enjoyed participating as three-sport athletes. However, over the past two years, we have come to believe that if you are a female athlete, O'Hara probably is not the school for you. Very regimented in male traditions - women cannot be part of the booster club (only to work concessions) and make decisions. Very disheartening.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cardinal O Hara High School
39 Ohara Road, Tonawanda, NY  14150
(716) 695-2600
Last modified Cardinal O Hara High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Cardinal O Hara High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top