Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis of Assisi School

Private | PK-8 | 142 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tonawanda

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2012

Excellent School, small and personal, love the music teacher she is the best, Mrs Knoerl is an inspiration to all her students, Sheila the gym teacher/librarian is also amazing, best teacher academically in the school is the first grade teacher Mrs Babcock a loving and sweet teacher to all her students even after they leave first grade........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

A great starting block for life! St. Francis prepared me for highschool, and the teachers really know what they are doing. Mrs. Newbigging, Mrs. Misso, Mrs. Maloney, Mrs. Neumeister, Mrs. Angelo, Mrs. Miranda, Mr. Pinto, Mrs. Saltarelli, Senora Sales, Mrs. Knoerl, Mrs. Bacock, Mrs. Oliveri, Mrs. Bieneck and Mrs. Bacon are the best!


Posted January 20, 2011

St. Francis is a great place for learning, Jesus, and meeting wonderful people. The families there are very close and are always welcoming new people. Teachers try to connect with students and help them not only with their class, but in all academics. The teachers really care about the students. St. Francis helped me academically. I now attend Canisius Highschool on a scholarship and my grades are just as high as kids coming out of top schools like Nardin Elementary. I went to St. Francis from Pre-K 3 through 8th grade and Im very happy that my parents sent me there.


Posted June 9, 2010

Fantastic teachers, lacking in administrative leadership. The new admisitration is well versed in academic theory, but lacking in practical experience. The principal is a great one for taking credit for the work others do, and favoring certain families. There are changes being made that are costing money, yet have no academic impact. The extra workload on teachers is enormous, and at what we are paying them, we should be embarassed! I hope the school stays open long enough for my children to graduate, and I hope the teachers that are there now are able to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

Excellent school!!! The new Principal is wonderful and he is doing great things for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I give high praise to St. Francis for the excellent education I know my children are receiving academically and otherwise. I was at another parish, decided it was time to change schools, and did a ton of research comparing several local private schools. St. Francis stands up academically with the best in the area and are at about HALF THE COST!! What impresses me most is the tenure of the faculty, I think it is well over 10 years, instead of the turnstile that was at the last place. I agree that the new Principal's methods are taking a little adjusting and I do wish he was more social with the students, but with this parish Priest overseeing the School I have no concerns about the direction of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I agee with the person who believes that St. Francis is run more like a business than a Catholic School. The new administration has totally changed the family environment. This school is supposed to exhibit Christian Values and love and it is totally different now. I also know that the new administration has caused lots of heartache for many people including faculty, staff and parents.


Posted April 10, 2010

This school used to be a 5 star school. Unfortunately, for some reason, they hired a new principal that is more of a business manager than a principal. It has lost its 'family' feeling and seems to be more like a public school. I know that time marches on, but there is no longer a happy feeling surrounding the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We jsut switched to St. Francis this year and the other parents have made this such a nice switch. They are helpful, sharing, outgoing, and generally show thier love of the school. As for the acqademics and the teachers I'm still a hung jury, as we aren't even past the first marking period in our first year there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

My son went to St Francis for kindergarden through 8th grade. He was an honors student in all 4 grades in high school and wound up being the valedictorian. He received so many scholarships that sending him to college was less expensive than sending him to a private grade school. There is no doubt in my mind that he did so well because of the encouragement and academic discipline of St Francis. He would have gotten lost at the public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

I'm Gina, and I give Saint Francis of Assisi School a 5-star rating because I went there for 11 years, graduated, and I now am on a $5000 schlorship at my private High School.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 52%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Colleen Politowski
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70 Adam St
Tonawanda, NY 14150
Phone: (716) 692-7886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Baptist School
Tonawanda, NY





Spruce School
North Tonawanda, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT