Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Troy, NY
Students enrolled: 403

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 2 1

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
I am very disappointed with the replacement of the principal and many other changes that came along with the $4.2 million grant this year. The claimed added support services are nonexistent. Several parents are removing their kids from the school this year since many of the proposed changes are not working to the fullest benefit for the students. Class sizes are too big; all teachers need an assistant for the classroom. To see improvement in test scores the students require individual time with teachers. Countless students need extra time for comprehension as they are falling behind and have no one to help catch them up. The bullying is rampant and parent involvement is little to none. There are no extracurricular sports activities for students either. Added sports activities will create leadership skills, teamwork, and give a sense of school spirit to the students. The personal connection with the teachers is all I enjoy about the school.

Ps 2 4

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is attending this school for the 2nd yr. I was worried about all the things i heard about the school...bad neighborhood,bad kids,ect... BUT the school ended up being really great..its clean the staff is amazing all the kids i have met Seem to be great kids... the school all around I like and will continue to send me kids there...The principal Mrs. Martin knows all of her students and is great with all of them! The teachers are great!


Ps 2 4

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
I think it is a good school. It is the parents responsibility to teach their children right from wrong and how to treat other people. I feel that alot of the parents do not care. Parents need to be more involoved in their childrens education.

Ps 2 4

Posted November 29, 2010
- a community member
This school is no different than any othr school except that they are very poor and have no parent invlolement which makes a great deal of difference. The school involement at this school is great due to the staff. The school havs very caring staff and provide a safe learning eviroment and is a very clean school which makes a big difference.

Ps 2 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Their SFA reading program is the best. All the kids are eager to learn and need this school.


Ps 2 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
One of the worst schools in Troy? Not hardly I would never send a child to 12 either. They have had knives and fights there too. Its a school. Mrs Martin is doing the best she can with the kids she has and that doesnt fall on the kids but the parents for letting them get away with the way they talk and talking that way themselves. A fight now and then after school is not a big problem even though it is a zero tolerance but off of school property they have no control. All of the schools have had fights so they are all bad now? No. All the schools are tough and you just have to deal with that.

Ps 2 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 2 3

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
I think this is a good school. It has it's problems like every school does. It depends alot on your child, you, and the teacher.Alot has been done this year to change things that were not too good. Much better this year.


Ps 2 5

Posted September 08, 2007
- a student
i went to this school all my life so far and i think it was a very great school

Ps 2 1

Posted October 31, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 2
470 10th Street, Troy, NY  12180
(518) 328-5601
Last modified Ps 2 is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 2 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top