Advertisement
Advertisement

Sacred Heart School

Private | PK-6 | 200 students

Family-friendly atmosphere, high-acieving, talented students

 

Living in Troy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $133,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2013

This school is not what it was. There is a lack in leadership and authority. Situations between students are poorly handled, if they are handled at all it usually is when a parent complains even then not much gets done. Teachers choose favorites, they will listen to one student over another. Sometimes not allowing some children to tell their side or telling that child they can't be trusted. When in all reality this is done for political reasons. The children are constantly criticized, there is no constructive criticism. The way some teachers speak,act and dress are totally inappropriate for a catholic school. The diocese should really take a closer look. Don't think the personnel will treat your child with the same respect as when you are there, because their demeanor drastically changes when your not. If your looking for a good school to send your child think again about this one, they let anyone go here so you will find the same issues that most public schools have. I am sorry I spent the amount of money I have just to have my children tell me how much they hate their school. If it wasn't for the fact they have made many friends I would have pulled them from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My children have attended Sacred Heart School for 7 years. It it the most wonderful experience and have not had one regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

My grand child started school here in the 4th grade .I can not thank them enough she did great if I could rate this school on a scale from one to ten I would give the school a rating of a ten thank you very much for everything you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

My daughter has thrived at Sacred Heart. In my view there is no better school in the Capital District. Small classes, excellent academics, caring staff. Homework/projects which are not 'busy work.' Teachers who go above and beyond. Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

We could not have chosen a better school for our child. The faculty and administration all support our children's growth, acadmic achievement and Catholic identity. There are opportunities for gifted and struggling students. All one has to do is ask and the faculty and administartion put their heads together and make a plan. We do not regret the sacrifices we have made to send our child to Sacred Heart (Pre K - 6th grade).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

A nice, small school. I love Fr. Vaughn, Mrs. Nixon, Mrs. McCaffery. Generally, an enthusiastic staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

great administration, wonderful children, exemplory programs and true Catholic spirit shown, especially by the students. I encourage all to attend their annual live nativity pageant to fully appreciate all this school has to offer!


Posted September 10, 2006

This a Catholic School that keeps the traditions of our Faith while preparing children for living that Faith in the future. The principal is a living example of strong Faith, forward thinking, highly informed and educated. She is dedicated to keeping this school at a high standard. What a great role model!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 14, 2005

The academics are very good although it is lacking for the students that need more of a challenge. They do provide music, art, spanish, and PE. Many parents are involved and the numbers are increasing with a new PSA in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The principal is a class act.! Totally up all the time and the positive attitude trickles down to the teachers and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 52%
Black 9% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Social Justice (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms.Susan K. Holland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (518) 274-8720

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • differentiated instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • provided by local school distr
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Children's Choir
  • Drama club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • 96% of our students achieve Honor Roll Status. Their commitment to academics follows them through high school, as evidenced by the large percentage of our graduates who continue in Honors Programs, Student Government, the arts, or community service. Our students consistently achieve some of the highest scores in the Troy area on NYS tests (ELA, Math, Science and Social Studies). Parent accolades include the school's inclusive culture, the longevity of the teaching staff .
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
78
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
78

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Diocesan

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic Central
LaSalle
Doyle Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 Spring Ave
Troy, NY 12180
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 274-3655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 16
Troy, NY




Gardner-Dickinson School
Wynantskill, NY


P.S. 14
Troy, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT