Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
2,553 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
91 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 104 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kellenberg Memorial High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Very few teachers are effective or really care about the students in their care. This is very sad

Kellenberg Memorial High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
I do not feel that the teachers or administration are respectful to students or parents.


Kellenberg Memorial High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
I do not feel that the teachers promote honesty, integrity, and fairness which as role models for their students would help the students develop these virtues.

Kellenberg Memorial High School 2

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
There are some positives about Kellenberg but academics are not one of them. They are very strict which is not a bad thing. The children are expected to follow a set of rules and if they don't they have to suffer the consequences. My problem is their academics. Some of the teachers are good but many do not talk nicely to the students or parents for that matter and this practice is condoned all the way up through the administration. This school does not have an atmosphere of academic excellence. Many of the teachers could care less if their students even understood the material and just robotically grade the scantron tests. If you want a school with great academics and teachers that really care about motivating your child and helping them reach their fullest potential and that will become future mentors for your child look elsewhere. Save your money.

Kellenberg Memorial High School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a community member
Looking at the other reviews, many people have trouble with tuition, strict teachers, religion, and college/honors. For tuition, Kellenberg is now one of the lowest tuition catholic running schools on Long Island! As for Religion, I understand why many people would be upset that their child hasn't been accepted, this year Kellenberg only accepted those who were baptized Catholics. You have to understand. Kellenberg wants all students to understand strong catholic beliefs. Yes I know it is unfair, but Kellenberg is a really great CATHOLIC school. And for those complaining on how they are "not very religious" that's what you sign up for! Kellenberg is very proud of their Religion. If you don't like Religion go somewhere else like Holy Trinity, I sure know that they aren't very catholic for a CATHOLIC school. Now for the problem of "strict teachers" for your information, not all of the teachers are "strict" yes there are some teachers that are strict but they at strict because they want you to do your very best. As for honors/college, Many people who graduate from Kellenberg receive a scholarship to many colleges. Kellenberg is truly a great CATHOLIC school on Long Island


Kellenberg Memorial High School 1

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
I'm very disappointed, my son took the entrance exam and put Kellenberg down as his first choice. After not getting accepted I made a phone call and was told that they do not accept children with IEP's or 504's. My son only needed extended time for math testing and preferential seating! I feel my time was wasted looking at the school as well as eliminating another choice when asked to pick 3. Each school should make parents aware of this before looking at the school and taking the test. FYI I believe Chaminade has the same policy. So much for equal opportunities for children with disabilities. Just to let you know, St John the Baptist, St Anthony's and St Dominic will accept children with accomodations.

Kellenberg Memorial High School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
Holy Cow, we are half way through our first year and Kellenberg and could not be happier. My kids have never been happier. It is a blessing

Kellenberg Memorial High School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
My son graduated class of 2013.it w a s the best four years as a parent and student. M y son was involved with many clubs and has been involved with a group of friends which as of today they still hang with each other. Kellenberg is truly a school that never sleeps. To this day my son goes up and visit. Kellenberg has gotten my son ready for college. I as parent miss the school very much.


Kellenberg Memorial High School 4

Posted September 03, 2014
- a community member
It's only my 2nd day here but I'm already loving it, the girls are NOT snotty or limited to one group at all, everyones so family like and willing to become friends with you. I think what really made me like this school more is the fact i DIDN'T make the cheerleading team. I opened my eyes to all of the cool clubs that almost everyone can get a club they like. I made some really good friends already and i'm looking forward to making more. But on a side note, some of the teachers are EXTREMELY strict when it comes to some classroom rules. A girl was late on the first day, and when asked why she just explained that she got lost and the teacher said that it wasn't an excuse. It was the 1ST DAY!! You just have to know your teachers rules and remember every teacher is different with how they handle things. Goodluck and you'll love it here!

Kellenberg Memorial High School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
Kellenberg is the best school on Long Island! They have the best education!I love it I can't wait until School Starts!!!!The teachers are super nice and the kids are really nice and friendly!!This school is worth everything they have every club and activity!This school is excellent!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kellenberg Memorial High School
1400 Glenn Curtiss Boulevard, Uniondale, NY  11553
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 104 reviews. (516) 292-0200
Last modified Kellenberg Memorial High School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top