Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Christopher Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted November 03, 2012
- a parent
i wouldnt even give them one star they are a terrible school in a good area of the city

Christopher Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
I currently have a 4th grader attending this elementary and couldn't be happier with her progress. She has been molded by wonderful teachers and caring staff into a Junior Honor Society member who continues to excell with each grade she enters into. I couldn't possibly touch upon all the amenities Columbus has to offer our children...between the Rotarians and the Audubon Society and all their generosity..to the after school program that helps our working parents...to the music programs...extra tutoring...I could go on and on!! My only complaint at this point would have to be the heart felt loss of Principal Kunkel.


Christopher Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Christopher Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Christopher Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted July 10, 2007
- a staff
Columbus School has many beneficial programs for the students including the LFS (Learning Focused School) program. Columbus is the only school in the Utica District that follows the LFS program. They also offer a PBIS (Positive Behavioral Intervention Service), Utica Rotarians that are assigned to a classrooms and read to the students each week, they deliver free dictionaries for 4th and 5th grade students each year, they donate coats, hats and gloves for the winter months, and they have donated time and money in the Courtyard. The Courtyard is one of kind and only at Columbus School. It encompasses growing herbs, vegetables, plants, and flowers. There is a weather station that is also accessible online, a pond, and a planetarium still in progress. Columbus also offers Art, Music, Choir, Instrumental, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Science Club, Technology Club, Basketball, Track, Boys & Girls Club afterschool program and Tutoring.


Christopher Columbus Elementary School 2

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
I am completely disappointed in this school. My 5 yr old started here and I have never been asked to meet with the teacher to discuss his academic progress. I am not notified of assemblies, concerts, etc...until after they happen and my son wonders why I was not there. He is 1 of 27 other children and this is demonstrated by the lack of attention he receives and lack of communication with parents. We will be moving out of this school district for the 2007 school year.

Christopher Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Christopher Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christopher Columbus Elementary School
934 Armory Drive, Utica, NY  13501
(315) 368-6520
Last modified Christopher Columbus Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Christopher Columbus Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top