Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas R Proctor High School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
Teachers are fantastic, and this school offers so much. Many teachers are former college professors. Great school!

Thomas R Proctor High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My school is the best because it offers my children an abundance of avenues in which to excel.


Thomas R Proctor High School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a student
attending this school was the best 4 years of my life . not cuz i was popular but we didnt judge one from another every one sits here n talks like we have but to be honest everyone knows your not gonna be noticed if your a quiet person . everyone makes a big deal about the drama n fights but were ever you go you get it . An for sports if your really dedicated an want to maybe procced in college with the same sports this is a great start a class aa school ... DONT HATE ON THE SCHOOL

Thomas R Proctor High School 5

Posted April 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas R Proctor High School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a student
Proctor is a brilliant school, with many opportunities, and amazing programs. I love attending because I am seen as an individual and not a number, even though the school is rather large with a population of over 2,000 students. My teachers care, and I already have many that are willing to write me letters of rec. for college applications. (I'm only in 9th grade) It has a brilliant diverse populus and allows me to learn about many cultures. it's science program made me want to study Forensics and attend Boston U.


Thomas R Proctor High School 5

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
This is an excellent school that deserves more recognition and the only problems with this school is that it used to have 6 or 7 differant principals so their was no central authority but they seem to have fixed that problem.

Thomas R Proctor High School 2

Posted August 09, 2007
- a student
In my opinion, Proctor seems to have a lot of problems. The class sizes are too big, the majority of the kids are disrespectful, the security staff do not seem to have a good handle on situations half the time, and it takes forever to get through one lesson because of all the terrible language. During my years at proctor I've learned to just go with the flow and ignore the bad, but it gets out of hand sometimes...

Thomas R Proctor High School 2

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
The school is too large and students can easily get lost in the shuffle. The AP courses are outstanding but the regular classes are overcrowded and significant numbers of students do not want to be in school. The faculty is competent and the vast majority are dedicated. The school is very diverse and there are racial/ethnic problems associated with this. With the exception of sports the extracurricular programs are underfunded. The administration seems to be constantly changing direction to address the problems in the school and there seems to be a lack of long term planning. The board of education significantly interferes in the day to day operation of the school and seems to appoint weak administrators who they can push around. The school is adrift. Parental involvement is limited and seems to be discouraged.


Thomas R Proctor High School 5

Posted May 27, 2007
- a parent
This school is a very nice school with great academic opportunities. Great range of sports,and after-school activities. The atmosphere and the trust is great too.

Thomas R Proctor High School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas R Proctor High School
1203 Hilton Ave, Utica, NY  13501
(315) 368-6404
Last modified Thomas R Proctor High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas R Proctor High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.