Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valhalla Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
It is fair - not too much. If your child in into sports of after school activities it can be a lot however it's doable.

Valhalla Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
They can do more with persistence. I would like them to push my daughter more in some areas. Overall they do a great job.


Valhalla Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Yes very fair to the students and their issues. They are listened too and treated with respect.

Valhalla Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Yes, the staff at the Middle school is kind. They really make each child feel important. My daughter has reached out to the nurse just for a hug. Kids need to feel important especially at this age. Middle school is very stressful for kids. I was grateful for the kindness my daughter received throughout her 3 years here.

Valhalla Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
They have a zero tolerance policy in bullying. They nip it in the bud immediately which makes for a great school.


Valhalla Middle School 5

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
90% of the teachers are exceptional. They really work with the students towards getting them to the next level. Teachers are available for extra help in the morning before class and after school. They welcome the students to seek their assistance.

Valhalla Middle School 3

Posted June 13, 2013
- a community member
This school can be so, so. I have just ended 6th grade and I am in jeopardy of failing math because of Ms. Pazonas work ethnic.

Valhalla Middle School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
My husband and I moved to Valhalla because of their great schools. We relocated from Arizona in June 2011. Our youngest daughter started attending Valhalla MS in September 2011. Although we were concerned about the adjustment she would have to make, since she had attended an elementary school in Arizona and now she was attending middle school, our fears were not realized. She has been thriving at VMS. She LOVES all her teachers and they have made her feel very welcome. She is getting straight A's and has made several great friends here. We are very pleased with the level of education she is receiving.


Valhalla Middle School 4

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
Very bad math teachers in 6th grade. However, most of the teachers in other departments are excellent.

Valhalla Middle School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Absolutely horrible! I have a son who is in sixth grade. He is in jeopardy of repeating the 6th grade after failing 3 subjects. I have been trying since January to get him help but to no avail. The so-called 'specialists' and teachers just give lip service and do not work to be proactive. I have a lawyer demanding that they do something to help before the end of the year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valhalla Middle School
300 Columbus Avenue, Valhalla, NY  10595
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (914) 683-5011
Last modified Valhalla Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top