Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Wantagh, NY
Students enrolled: 859
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wantagh Middle School 4

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
I have had 2 children at WMS, one an honors student and one who needed extra help. Both students were well served by the school for their widely differing needs. Also, when one child reported being bullied, the administration had the entire school attend an anti-bullying program in the gym within days of the report. Kids being kids, there will always be some degree of this and the cliques and all the other things I see people complaining about on this site, but it's no different from when we were kids - or how adults behave these days. It's human nature. Perhaps some of the parents need to teach their children that they aren't the center of the universe anymore. And the parents need to realize that these are the years of great development both educationally and psychologically for their kids. Time to start growing up.

Wantagh Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
Our child started WMS this year and had almost exactly the opposite experience to the last review. The teachers have been very committed to helping him adjust to middle school. For the first few weeks they had teachers in the hallways to help children find their way. Extra help is offered and encouraged by all his teachers. So far I am very happy. His guidance counselor is very dedicated and responsive. The board does need to find and keep a permanent high quality superintendent.


Wantagh Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2012
- a community member
this school has way too many issues.The food is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!! When my son went here on his first day he came home crying.Telling me that the teachers were yelling at him for being lost, they had no one showing them where to go ,he said a teacher yelled at him for asking.He told me that when he asked children they pouposely led them to a diffrent place.He never wanted to go back!!This school needs to change on desperate measures111

Wantagh Middle School 2

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
This school is really bad.Their are about 10 teachers that tech well in the whole school. All of the teachers in the 8th grade science are old senile and CANT TEACH! the school is going to turn out really bad..soon.The principal is terrible,and the honors list is half of what it used to be...my opinion catholic is thhe way to go!

Wantagh Middle School 3

Posted August 08, 2011
- a community member
Dear parents and others alike The discipline in wantagh middle school is scarce and is really nothing at all the new principle is not to be trusted she is to believe that if a person is to defend themselves from getting hit there to get punished she also beleives that if the kid that should get in trouble is nice to the teachers an her self that the kid that told on them is the one to be blamed in stead of th E troublemaker and cause of her relation ship with some and barley any children in the school doesn't let most speak there mind and if they do they get in trouble as you can see there needs to be big changes in the school including principle and some staff that are concerningly harsh and cruel to some kids that are different from the pretty clones at this school Thank you


Wantagh Middle School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wantagh Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2009
- a parent
WMS is what the citizens make it. The kids are taught well by caring, superior teachers. If sports is emphasized, it reflects what the parents and board want. If you want a better science program, ask for it and pay for it. As it is, WMS has one of the most superior student support programs, their advisories, on Long Island.

Wantagh Middle School 3

Posted October 23, 2008
- a student
Most of these reviews are written by parents who only think they know about this school. They, however don't have to attend the school regularly. I honestly don't care if they're in the PTA or not, because they will never know the school as well as us kids. Now, after an openning paragraph like that, you would think that I would rip this school to shreds. However, it is not all that bad. The food is fine, we have a good balance of homework for classes, and for the most part, the teachers are nice. However, some teachers don't care, or are unnecessaraly cruel, and let me make it abundantly clear that I am not just saying that because they yell at me for doing poor in class. I do think the school is way too sports focused. Also, punishment is usually too light.


Wantagh Middle School 5

Posted July 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wantagh Middle School 2

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
I am increasingly concerned about our children's experience in WMS. There is almost no more room for a child to have a balanced childhood; class time, homework/study time and playtime. The tensions are rampant throughout the halls, from admin to staff to children, all pressured to teach to the test. Children only memorize the volume of material they are faced with; resulting in low retention levels. They aren't learning well. My child is bright and he is being turned off. His healthy curiosity is being damaged. I'm sad to say all this. WMS was way better before NCLB. Parent who agree should write their congressman and get rid of yearly testing. It won't happen unless we do this. It's up to us. Our kids can't get back their childhood. Sad times, indeed.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wantagh Middle School
3299 Beltagh Avenue, Wantagh, NY  11793
(516) 679-6350
Last modified Wantagh Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wantagh Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top