Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wantagh Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1175 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2013

All of these 4-5 star reviews are made by the owners of the school to make themselves look better. This school literally endorses bullying and punishes the victims.


Posted January 17, 2013

Mediocre at best! Lots of bullying and favoritism. Very little discipline if any. Staff and faculty seem unenthused. NO DIVERSITY!!!


Posted July 13, 2012

When i saw this school got a 4 out of 5 stars i laughed.I am writing this comment representing a huge GROUP of parents.The schools discipline level is probably at 0%..The school has at least 90% kids that are jersey shore and homies.Kids walk around with their pants half way down and their hat on sideways trying to be "cool." When I walked in this school for the first time I was extremely un-impressed.For some reason this school is going completely down hill. A rule that I strongly disapprove of is that kids are allowed to have their cell phones out!!!!This could lead to cheating on tests, cyber bullying,etc.Another problem is BULLYING.I do not understand why but so many kids are just plain mean.Luckily,the group of parents and I have children that are trying to succeed,which is extremely hard to do in this schools educational climate.the school overall has only a one star in college preparation. inappropriately dressed girls and boys come into school all the time.Lastly,girls and boys who try to succeed are always ridiculed for being smart an are turned into the regular crowd.I guess this is why so many parents are sending kids to private school in 8th grade because of the HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

I am a parent of a high School Jr. at the Wantagh Sr. High school. This is my third child that has attended this school which is a Blue Ribbon School of excellence. This school has offered all of my children an excellent start in being prepared for College. They offer a variety of College level instruction with AP courses. Both of my older children have gone on to the college of their choice and done very well. My youngest is looking to follow his siblings foot steps and is also taking advantage of the AP and college level courses available. They offer clubs and sports to fit most students interests. Parents are very involved as you can see at every school event. They do help parents to educate themselves for the process of getting your son or daughter into college. On a closing note I have seen the value of the high school taxes we pay in affording our children a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

Great kids,great schools....Alot of parental involvement! Proud to be a part of it! BTW Union Free was a term made when the Long Island School Districts were formed...It has nothing to do with the unions...It's a question that I also had before I searched out the reason..All surrounding school districts consider themselves Union Free,and they also have unions..All it was put in place to mean was that the school districts are seperate from each other.... Example...Seaford is a seperate district from Wantagh,Massapequa,Bellmore and so on..I hope this clears things up... I personally can not say enough good things about the leadership of the High School....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

Outrageously high school taxes! Food for thought: Why does the Wantagh School system refer to themselves as "union-free", when the teachers are actually union members?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

We have great kids!! Great teachers who care about our kids!! and an awesome school enviorment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Great School and great community. We have so many alumni that chose to stay in this school district and raise their own kids here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We are very proud of all the band students and the band department. Our parent support is amazing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

Some of my best memories were from Wantagh High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

They not only have the best teachers, but there is such a varied array of classes offered. Between the curriculum, teachers and guidance department, they really prepare you for your life after high school, whether it be college or working. They really take an interest in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

Outstanding school, great new principal. The Superintendent is one of the most experienced and best on Long Island. He is an outstanding role model who obviously hires and inspires one of the finest, most educated, and caring staffs in the state. Our community doesn't give them a lot to work with financially, but they do their best with the money they have. Excellence is reflected in their desire to do the very best for our children, despite hard times, a failed budget, stressed out working parents, and a country that prefers to spend its money on war than education. Go Wantagh!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

Had several problems throughout the last two years. Made phone calls and received to same response. We will look into and get back to you. It's two years and I'm still waiting. Think its just a average school nothing of excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I had a meeting with the superintendent in Oct...he said that he would get back to me, it is now June...I am still waiting. The school is not what is used to be, a lot of the better teachers have gone. It used to be a great district, but is only sup par now. It is a great community of people however...oh and school taxes are way to high, considering what you get back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

The quality of the academic programs at Wantagh is second to none! The personalized attention and quality of teachers is extraordinary and my kids are being prepared for the colleges of their choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Both of my children have graduated Wantagh High School. They were very prepared for college. The availibility of college and AP courses allowed myson to graduate one year early from NYU and my daughter has begun her college career with 24 credits. Music is available although I would like to see the Orchestra and Chorus become as excting as the Band program. More participation in NYSSMA would be good. Coaches should take a more active part in soliciting college offers for participating students. Parents in Wantagh are very involved - making the teachers and administration more responsive and accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Very good education. Alot of sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

I attended this school all four years. I had a wonderful learning experience! There was a great variety of electives and the guidance department was outstanding. I never had more than one study hall sometimes in a whole year. I took Photography, Technical Drawing, Fine Art, Journalism, Creative Writing... and more that really expanded my knowledge and helped me learn more about myself. The teachers are absolutely top notch as well. I still remember all of thier names! The english department stands out to me as an outstanding program. The teachers were a lot of fun and that makes a big difference to a kid who doesn't like english too much. I actually understand Shakespeare now. The math department took me way past any expectations I had. I never thought I would pass let alone do well! This school is a blessing to any kid who goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

One of the most outstanding models of educational excellence I have ever encountered. The district superintendent and his staff are exemplary for their caring and committment to a quality education for all students. This district is a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

41 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

61 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

150 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female98%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Earth Science

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities65%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

English

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities70%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

Geometry

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities78%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%

Global History and Geography

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities74%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

Integrated Algebra

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities83%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Female99%
Male99%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities87%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%

Physics

All Students86%
Female79%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

U.S. History and Government

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities90%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 94% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
Hispanic 2 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Black 1 0% 19%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 73%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3297 Beltagh Ave
Wantagh, NY 11793
Phone: (516) 679-6401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT