Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Wappingers Falls, NY
Students enrolled: 522

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sheafe Road Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
I love Sheafe Road because the teachers are caring and giving and they teach with all their hearts. Everyone comes together as a family when needed and there is no short supply of wonderful and dedicated volunteers that help keep this school great! My kids learned a lot and continue to remember the fun and good times with friends and teachers who make Sheafe Road 'A fun place to learn'!

Sheafe Road Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I have 3 children @ Sheafe Rd. Elementary. I am pleased with their progress. Sheafe has many activities: Drama Club, Homework Club, Math Club, Math Carnivals, Fall Festivals, Ice Cream Socials, Reading Workshops w/ Mount St. Mary College, Science Fairs, Intramurals that include Football, Karate, Rock Wall Climbing, Track & Field, Bowling, Floor Hockey, Soccer, Tennis, Gymnastics & Dance ect... Yet, I am very concerned with the future of education in Wappingers Central School District. Due to budget cuts @ the state & county levels services are being cut. Next year the Enrichment Program & Bridge Classes will not be available @ Sheafe Rd. Loss of these services is a tragedy. All of my children have participated in one or both of these programs and are better students for it. One of my children, in particular, is learning impared & would still be struggling without those programs.


Sheafe Road Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in the 2nd grade . And so far she has had a wonderful time learning and getting great grades from k-2 and the staff has been very helpful. I have all nice things to say about the staff and the school . thank you and keep up the good work.

Sheafe Road Elementary School 3

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
This is not the best school to attend if your child shows the need for special education intervention later on in their elementary years. You really have to be an advocate for your child and fight hard to get any help. I also do not care on how they grade low the 1st quarter just to give the child incentive to work harder for a higher grade. It is not fair to those who are already working hard and not seeing the reward.

Sheafe Road Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
I have had three (very different) children in Sheafe Road. I think this is the absolute best elementary school in New York! All of the teachers are incredibly kind and caring towards the students AND their families. Most teachers try to guides each student to use their full abilities but it's difficult sometimes due to all the strife in many of these children's lives. The new principal is outstanding and his energy and friendliness have infused the school with new vigor to strive toward excellence! The PTA does a lot to add extra fun into the school life.


Sheafe Road Elementary School 3

Posted August 25, 2006
- a parent
My child started Sheafe Road after a move to the area in 4th grade. She had a wonderful start and transition to her new school thanks to a wonderful teacher who was very attentive to her needs. She was very welcome by students and teachers alike. Since I can compare the level of education from Long Island to here I have a few concerns. She started taking violin lessons in 2nd grade, so she already had 2 years of learning! Here it only starts in 5th, to me she has to start over again. She also had book reports in 2nd and 3rd, which were simple and question lead,it got her thinking,organizing and writing. In Sheafe she had none! My concern is academics are a little behind schedule in certain areas. Sheafe Road has a lot of potential, I believe it is capable of so much more.Start them young.

Sheafe Road Elementary School 4

Posted February 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sheafe Road Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sheafe Road Elementary School 4

Posted August 14, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Sheafe Road Elementary School 4

Posted May 03, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sheafe Road Elementary School
287 Sheafe Road, Wappingers Falls, NY  12590
(845) 298-5290
Last modified Sheafe Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sheafe Road Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top