Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wappingers Junior High School 2

Posted June 10, 2014
- a community member
WJHS, in my two years, has been sorta hit and miss. There are a few GREAT teachers and staff who genuinely care about the students. In my two years, I've had some teachers who were so great and inspiring, I'd go as far as to call them life changing. Most of the kids are rather nice. However, the school is not without its faults. The building is rather old, and practically falling apart in some areas. there are holes in the walls, pieces chipped off of desks, dents in the floor that make it hard to move your chair, and a few other things. Bullying is also an issue. While the school has many anti-bullying programs running, the teachers often loave them, since they take away from class time. Little is done when teachers see bullying. Lessons often put WAY too much focus on the State Tests, and when I confronted a teacher on this she told me to "go back on the unicorn I came in on, the world's not perfect." While most students are well-behaved, there is a large number of bullies that make me, personally, uncomfortable throughout the day. I've been chased trough the halls by boys making fun of me, passing several teachers, who didn't do a thing. Fix those, issues, and it would be great.

Wappingers Junior High School 4

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
We transferred here from a Manhattan junior high after the beginning of last year (7th grade). It was a delightful surprise. My son thought (and still thinks) the kids are so much friendlier and well behaved in this school. The teachers he says, spend less time disciplining and more time teaching. As a result he has excelled here. The teachers have been stimulating and very accessible for both of us when there are questions about the work or if he had some difficulty understanding the work. The guidance counselors have been supportive during the transition and the office staff friendly and helpful. . As a parent it is easy to find opportunities to volunteer and some of the fundraising activities are lot's of fun (love the Crazy Cake Auction). I find the school's daily emails home very helpful and in the 7th grade they had daily homework text/emails sent which was enormously helpful in keeping him organized and me abreast of his work. All in all it's been a very good experience.


Wappingers Junior High School 5

Posted August 09, 2011
- a parent
This is truly a great school. Under the leadership of Mr. V. DiGrandi, my child had an excellent 2 years. He is the type of Principal that the student body feels comfortable talking to, and the staff at WJHS does a good job of encouraging parent partnerships. Excellent staff, excellent extracurricular activies, excellent academic programs.

Wappingers Junior High School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wappingers Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a student
this school is pretty good was there for 2 years. had no problems with the school. i wish they had a.c though guess not haha


Wappingers Junior High School 1

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wappingers Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2009
- a student
i think that this school is awesome!!!!!!! i love you mr.coelho !!!!!!!! =) i give this school a 4 and a half !!!!!

Wappingers Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
Great if your child is a 'typcially functioning' student. This distrcit/school is not accomodating for students with special needs/requiring special education services. They expect the child to fit into the program, not change or create a new programs to meet the educational needs of the children. For example this district/school will not modify the curriculum to meet the students educational needs, the curriculum can not be deviated from because the teachers much teach to the state testing instead of meeting their students needs. I can only imagine the teachers frustration.


Wappingers Junior High School 2

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wappingers Junior High School 2

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wappingers Junior High School
30 Major Macdonald Way, Wappingers Falls, NY  12590
(845) 298-5200
Last modified Wappingers Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wappingers Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top