Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washingtonville Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1512 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2013

Washingtonville HS and particularly the principals office did not prepare me for college. Fortunately I had parents that aggressively prodded me to excel, I did graduate with a 99 average, even with all AP courses. There were a few teachers that rose above the others, unfortunately they were the minority. The school administration reinforces mediocrity, simply put, teachers tongues don't speak success. Athletics are the anticipated way to college for many WHS students. If I lived in the area, my kids would attend private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

If you're looking for the challenge in high school, you'll find it. The problem is that (smart) students avoid these classes and then apply to top name schools for bragging rights. If you're an honors kid, you'll definately get a more well rounded education whereas the "regular" students are cramped in classes of 30+ where the teacher assigns a 10 minute assignment for an 80 min class period. What's surprising is that a good majority of students DO go off to nearby community college... strange for a more affluent public high school. Everyone tends to know each other and there's a nice hometown feel. The problem is diversity is LACKING!!! Students are deprived of learning about other cultures and belief systems. Yes, there are other people who DO exist in this world who ARE NOT white Christians and they don't always cater to deragatory stereotypes. Even 95% of the spanish department is white. There is a lot of underlying racism present. The suburban feeling is a little erie. when you get to school, you tend to pass by a lot of houses that look the same and the school is soo CLIQUEY!! But at least academics are good, top notch if you allow it to be but you wont be pressured. SS
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2010

It is safe for me to say the my education at WHS prepared me more for life than most State Colleges do within many regions outside of the Northeast area. It is the very lessons I learned from some of the greatest teachers I've known (even compared to many of my college professors) that I still go back to when making difficult decisions. I truly believe that WHS prepared me not only academically, but also socially and culturally to fully be prepared to engage in today's complex world and not only survive, but thrive in my career and all other areas. I am proud to be a Wizard, and as one of my favorite history teachers says: "It is not just what is being taught in the classroom, but what YOU the student put into your education.


Posted June 9, 2009

Both me and my brother graduated from here several years apart and have gone onto highly competitive engineering schools. However it is unanimously felt that we were inadequately prepared for freshman level college coursework and were forced to take remedial math and science to keep up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2009

Washingtonville schools meet the standard. They fill the need for school but donot go above and beyond. The district is poor, regardless of what this site shows for expenditures per student as my children, one high school, one middle school and one elementary, have yet to take one field trip or do anything extra. Everything extra has been cut. Not very much control of students in the High school and cheating is turned a blind eye to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I love Mr. Rossi!!!! And if you actually make an effort, Washingtonville High School offers the classes to prepare you for college. There is a great variety of AP and SUPA courses.


Posted March 16, 2009

I love WHS. I feel that majority of the teachers are truly invested in helping their students succeed.I am moving onto college with a great feeling of pride -- I know I am prepared both socially and academically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2008

Although the teachers were great influences the regular curriculum does not prepare the majority of students for college. I myself have moved on to a competitive school yet find myself struggling to keep up. The work load in high school must be higher due to the amount of students who pursue further education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

I graduated from Washingtonville HS a few years ago, and I felt extremely prepared for college- academically and socially. I, along with the other highly motivated students, attended top universities in the country, and have all thrived. As with any district, the teachers can only do so much to get a student motivated to apply for and attend a college that will challenge them. The AP courses I had the opportunity to take at WHS are not the norm at other high schools; you just need to be motivated enough to apply for them. The staff truly cares about who succeeds, and they do everything they can do to help- even if the student may not be the most appreciative or receptive. All schools have budget problems, and the community offers many volunteer opportunities to cushion your college application. WHS set me up for great success!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

The district's budget issues became increasingly apparent during my final years in the high school (i.e. clubs being cut and requiring student fundraising to reinstate, cutting the activity buses' schedule, etc). I generally felt that the teachers and administrators were helpful, well-informed and well-meaning, but I agree with a previous reviewer here that students were not adequately prepared for college, academically or socially.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

As a longtime teacher in this school, I have seen a vast improvement over the management end of things over the last three years. We have a bright, innovative staff that continually challenges the students to do their best. For those students willing to take on the challenge, we have a wide array of AP and SUPA courses and a range of quite interesting electives. Those students who decide to avail themselves of the resources available to them go on to do extremely well and end up at excellent universities. We are coming into our own technologically, and things are definitely moving in the right direction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2007

Washingtonville continues to improve and expand. The new principal is a skilled change agent and a positive force in the school and community. The school is goal oriented and student centered. The recent building expansion added new computer labs and classrooms which greatly enhanced the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2006

Washingtonville High School is a sound high school but has had budget woes due to an underestimation of the middle school expansion project. As a result, the recent budget vote was turned down and an austerity budget could be implemented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2005

i feel that washingtonville high school does not prepare students properly for going on to a college atmosphere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 27, 2005

A program where kids can get internships at jobs
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

285 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students54%
Female52%
Male57%
African American25%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%
Non-migrant54%

Chemistry

All Students74%
Female71%
Male77%
African American39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%

Earth Science

All Students87%
Female83%
Male91%
African American76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities40%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

English

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
African American84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities63%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Geometry

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
African American47%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities7%
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%

Global History and Geography

All Students77%
Female75%
Male80%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities38%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%

Integrated Algebra

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities54%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%

Living Environment

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities56%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%

Physics

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

U.S. History and Government

All Students87%
Female83%
Male93%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities56%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 73% 48%
Hispanic 2 16% 23%
Black 2 7% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 223%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 28%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN CONNOLLY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

54 W Main St
Washingtonville, NY 10992
Phone: (845) 497-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Birch School
Rock Tavern, NY





Bnai Yoel School
Monroe, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT