Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Watervliet, NY
Students enrolled: 746

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Watervliet Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
The teacher are great and they are very hands on with the children. My son loves his teachers!

Watervliet Elementary School 4

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
My son has been going to this school since pre-k and now is in first grade. He has had amazing teachers each year and has come a long way. My son has ADHD and getting him on the same level as other students has been a challenge. The teachers have not only kept me up to date about his issues but his accomplishments as well. I appreciate the extra steps they have taken through notes home, emails, and phone calls.


Watervliet Elementary School 1

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
The experience that I have had with WES has not been a positive one. There is no real good discipline system in place so when students do something wrong they are not disciplined correctly, or the punishment is not fully carried out, so no one is really held accountable for their actions. Bullying is running like wild fire in the schools and the bullies are questioned they simpley deny it and are believed and let go and keep doing it. Education is substandard. I would strongly discourage anyone from sending their children here.

Watervliet Elementary School 4

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Watervliet Elementary School 4

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
W.E.S. has many strong points. I have been able to work with both the teachers and the admin. to get the best education for my son. There have been some tough spots but we learn how put in a little more effort to get the best for our kids.


Watervliet Elementary School 2

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
Since the WES changed admin staff it has gone down hill. They have lost many wonderful teachers that have been with the district for years. Many of which were male teachers and as every one knows they are hard to come by especially if they are good ones. Instead of hiring well qualified teacher they play the politics game. Students that are failing they say that they are doing their best but in my opion they are not doing all they can if the child is still struggling. Yes in some cases maybe they are but for the most part some teachers just don't care. But over all Watervliet has many good teachers and hopefully they will stay but with how the school has been run lately it is hard to say.

Watervliet Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 24, 2007
- a parent
Watervliet is getting such a bad reputation! I think they need to strengthen their academic program and put Watervliet schools back on the map!

Watervliet Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2006
- a parent
All of my children go to the elementary school and i really have no complaints. The teachers are very helpful adn teach to the best of their abilities! tara richardson


Watervliet Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2004
- a parent
All of my children have gone to WHS since they were 5 years old. WHS is a school where the children definitely do not come first. No child is encouraged to do their personal best and have been labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The very few teachers who are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child have lost their abitlity to teach. The principal is kind, but the children have no respect for the vice principal and that is why WHS has fallen in its academic standards. This school has been a big disappointment. It's no child left behind approach has not been utilized and half or more of the children are on academic probation, due to failing two or more grades because our kids school need accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. Our school has dramatically deteriorated and at it is mediocre at best. It has therefore not carried forth with the advantages of a public school, and with all of the disadvantages, I would truly discourage others from sending thier children there.

Watervliet Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Watervliet Elementary School
2557 10th Avenue, Watervliet, NY  12189
(518) 629-3400
Last modified Watervliet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Watervliet Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top