Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public
Wells, NY
Students enrolled: 172

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wells School 4

Posted April 17, 2011
- a community member
This school has been amazing. My grandson loves the school and never complains. He has enjoyed all the programs,classes and most of all the teachers and staff.

Wells School 1

Posted March 21, 2011
- a community member
Challenging academic programs great student and teacher relations but not extracricular activities need more funding for more sports such as tennis, football, golf, swiming, lacross, feildhockey,


Wells School 1

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
i hate this school. the teachers try to give help,yeah but still its not enough. theres not enough sports, which not all the students like, baseball, soccer, basketball and cheerleading. some people like swimming, and football. its not enough for a small school.

Wells School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
I'm very happy with this school. The teachers I have met so far have been wonderful. It is a small school, which I personally love. When one of my children needed special eduction, the staff was right on top it and helped my son to pass his grade by working with him everyday, during school and after. They even come to our home and work with him, studying and test prep. I personally do not care about what languages they teach or do not teach except for English! It's a small town, funds are limited. I feel they do the best they can. And now that the Principal has Left the school, things should be 100% better..

Wells School 1

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
This school caters to the child who is struggling or doesn't care, and does nothing for the child who is above average. The most important thing to most parents is sports, even though the teams have a 'no cut' policy so everyone who wants to play, plays. The music program is mediocre, as is the art program. Parental involvement is practically non-existent. Things continue to be done the same way even when they're not working, because 'that's the way it's always been done.' The school is small and has a great teacher to student ratio, so there is real potential for excellence, but no one seems to want that. Everyone does what they need to do to get by, and that seems to be all that's expected. This school is a real disappointment.


Wells School 1

Posted March 14, 2006
- a parent
I'm very disappointed with this school. There aren't very many extracurricular activities or after school programs for the children to get into at all. For students with mental illness it's especially hard, not only on the kids, but on the parents as well. Wells Central School offers only one language, which narrows many opportunities for children who want to learn languages other than Spanish. The art programs are good though, but could use an increased budget to be able to buy new supplies for the kids. The food in Wells Central School is limited and I feel that the students deserve more to eat. Overall, when it comes to grading the students who need the help rarely get any at all.

Wells School 3

Posted April 30, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Wells School 2

Posted August 24, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wells School
1571 Highway 30, Wells, NY  12190
(518) 924-6000
Last modified Wells School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wells School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top