Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public district
West Hempstead, NY
Students enrolled: 338
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


George Washington School 4

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Overall, good school with diverse student population and teachers. My Son just graduated from 1st grade and I was very happy with the progress he has made. The teacher had a very methodical way of sending homework assignments for the whole week in a package and would check periodically on completion within the week. The parent teacher meetings were very informative to get update on progress, how he was doing vs peers.

George Washington School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
GW is excellent!! It is equipped with top technology for children to excel in reading, math and science. The PTA is really involved and the curriculum requires parental involvement. The teacher well qualified and with many years of experience. The children are getting a lot of information about eating healthy, exercise, manners, ... Etc. I truly enjoy when my daughter enlight me with yoga positions....lol


George Washington School 3

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
the school is good, but is a lot parents that don't speak English, and is a little hard to have a good communication and geft ing involved and improved all the necessities that our children nedd

George Washington School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
The school and curriculum is good overall. More recently parents (like myself) have noticed that some teachers come to the class unprepared with the lesson thus slowing down the learning process. Also what is up with homework on loose sheets?? Let the kids use a notebook

George Washington School 5

Posted December 09, 2008
- a community member
The new(2007) principal's focus is on the children, the curriculum and the safety of the school. The atmosphere is like family. The support you receive is sincere and worthwhile.


George Washington School 4

Posted August 02, 2006
- a teacher
GW is a good school, however, more extracurricular activities could be useful.

George Washington School 5

Posted August 02, 2005
- a parent
I feel the cirriculum at the school is top-notch, not to mention the friendly atmosphere provided by the entire school staff.

George Washington School 3

Posted August 13, 2004
- a parent
The teachers are great but they need to focus more on getting a good reading program into the district. There are children that need a more focused approach to reading. It is sad that this district doesn't use any reading program other then Read 180 or Erst. These do not deal with comprehension, blends or decodeing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington School
347 William Street, West Hempstead, NY  11552
(516) 390-3130
Last modified George Washington School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Washington School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top