Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
West Hempstead, NY
Students enrolled: 292

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hanc - West Hempstead 1

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
I have to agree with the parent who wrote the most recent review. This is a TERRIBLE school. It is NOT a warm or nuturing environment. If your child or your family is not EXACTLY like everyone else you and your child will be ostracized. My son was bullied relentlessly by his classmates and the administrations response was to tell me he brought it on himself and ignored the abusive behavior. The academic program is not challenging and the lack of concern regarding secular studies was appalling. Do not waste your time and money on this school if you care at all about your child's education and safety. The only reason I gave 1 star us because this site wouldn't allow zero.

Hanc - West Hempstead 1

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Please notice that every other review was posted within a day or two of 10/21/10. This must have been a concerted effort to boost the rating of this very poorly run school. The teacher turnover is high because they are underpaid. Most teachers have very little experience and are not good. In fifth and sixth grade the kids only have science and social studies for half a year -- probably as a money saving move. Children of board members and others with pull get special consideration, including placement in a higher track. My oldest son could not get into the top math class even though he was getting 95-96 in his class. There are much better options for Jewish day schools.


Hanc - West Hempstead 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
We are part of the Hanc family, which includes students, parents, faculty and administration. Upon entering the school you are greeted by the security guard, and as you proceed to walk deeper into the building, the enthusiasm and the warmth is contagious. Everyone in Hanc is considered part of the family. Bullying has become a hot topic in today's media. HANC is the antithesis of that. Every student looks after for one another.

Hanc - West Hempstead 5

Posted September 26, 2010
- a community member
The teachers have always been attuned to my granddaughter's needs.

Hanc - West Hempstead 5

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
High quality education in the warmest most nurturing environment.


Hanc - West Hempstead 0
no rating

Posted September 23, 2010
- a community member
It is a wonderful school, that produces fine, moral and positive children.

Hanc - West Hempstead 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
I went to school there. It's the best school with the best teachers.

Hanc - West Hempstead 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
HANC is a great school that tailors its very demanding learning programs to best position each child for success.


Hanc - West Hempstead 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a community member
They have a superior and caring faculty.

Hanc - West Hempstead 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2010
- a community member
HANC has teachers who care to ensure their students succeed. Classes are small so teachers can quickly see who needs extra attention.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hanc - West Hempstead
609 Hempstead Avenue, West Hempstead, NY  11552
(516) 485-7786
Last modified Hanc - West Hempstead is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Hanc - West Hempstead Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top