Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chestnut Street School

Public | K-2 | 133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2009

My daughter is finishing school at Chestnut and I must say am 100% pleased the way she has been preared for the first grade. Her teacher did an excellent job. Thank you class KD teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

My child attended chestnut street school and is now attending cornwell elementry. I feel that my child was very well prepare to enter the first grade, the teachers and staff were great . My child has only good memories of the school wish he has now pasted on to his little brother who will be attending in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

The school or the Principle s philosophy is no homework! I find this silly; kids need to practice since they will do homework until they graduate from college. Teachers were great but not enough lettering and numbering practice to prepare them for first grade. Pre-k was better for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The faculty and staff are definitely doing their jobs well. My son's teacher is great, maintaining open lines of communication for a family where both parents work. I would like to see a bit more homework,though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

The special education program is very limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I had absolutely no complaints about the education my son received here. The teachers are caring and kind, and the students really learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 50% 23%
White 1 29% 48%
Black 1 9% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
Two or more races 1 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 218%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 232%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE NOTTI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

252 Chestnut St
West Hempstead, NY 11552
Phone: (516) 390-3150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hanc - West Hempstead
West Hempstead, NY


George Washington School
West Hempstead, NY


St Thomas The Apostle School
West Hempstead, NY


John Street School
Franklin Square, NY


Fulton School
Hempstead, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT