Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Park Avenue School

Public | K-2 | 746 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2012

Im amazed at these reviews. The whole Westbury public school system is a mess and Park Ave.... well Park Ave is not looking for average students, they want them to be already smart so they don't have any work to do. The principal has a problem with students who came from private school. The classes are over crowded and the teachers have no patience. THIS SCHOOL IS A HOT MESS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

PARK AVENUE IS THE BEST SCHOOL IN AMERCIA! GREAT THINGS ARE HAPPENING AND KIDS ARE LEARNING!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

best school i ever went still remember all my teachers from there and i loved how the teachers talked both english and spanish that defintley helped me learn english faster and do all the work i had to do because i understood it
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2005

Park Avenue is a wonderful school. Although the building needs some updates from an exterior point of view, the interior is very inviting, and welcoming. The dual language program that teaches children in both english and spanish is excellent. THe staff is nurturing and caring, while providing an excellent learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Excellent school, I went to park ave when I was a little girl and now, my little girl is going to the same school. I love it. Keep up the good work Ms. Dingwall and Mr. Lightbourne.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 74% 23%
Black 2 23% 19%
White 1 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 43%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 286%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 67%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GLORIA DINGWALL

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

955 Park Ave
Westbury, NY 11590
Phone: (516) 876-5109

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Powells Lane School
Westbury, NY






Burns Avenue School
Hicksville, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT