Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westhampton Beach Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 410 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

Many families have moved here just for the amazing school system. High standards all around
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

Amen to the December 5, 2008 review. My kids are currently in this school and I am researching alternatives. The prevailing tone of this school is MEDIOCRITY, and I hold the leadership (principal) responsible. Nothing deplorable is going on but neither is anything excellent or inspiring. Makes me sad for the good teachers and for all the students. I believe the school could be greatly improved if there were more parental involvement but feel that the administration is not interested in this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

Most of the teachers at the school are very capable and enthusiastic about teaching. For the most part, they are doing a wonderful job educating our children. And, of course, the small class size and wonderful facilities are all very attractive to us. We are, however, concernced about its leadership. From our personal experience, the principal's leaderhip and judgment do not match the caliber of the teachers and the school's fantastic reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

WHB Elementary is a WONDERFUL school. I really can't credit the poor reviews seen here. We are a military family and the education my children received at this school was outstanding to say the least. I didn't always agree with my children's teachers on every subject but that dosen't change the fact that they went above and bevond to ensure my children received the best education possible. AND I found as a rule that they were very open to any conversation with me to resolve issues. The comments about Principal Masera are harsh and unfair. one of the duties of the principal is to deal with behavior problems. Roudy children disrupt everyones learning and that's not fair. I've always found Mr. M extremly dedicated to the children of this school. The teachers are amazing and as a rule LOVE the children they teach. Better than ANY private school out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

WHB Elementary seems to have gotten dramatically worse since the arrival of new Principal Ron Masera. He doles out punishment like a zealous prison guard but seems clueless on any issue regarding actual learning. WHB has a few very good teachers and faculty members, but are most tenured and lost their love of teaching long ago. They teach to the middle and are unwilling to go the extra mile, period. If your child is bright or needs extra help, avoid this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

As a parent my children are served very well at Westhampton Beach Elementary. Most of the teachers are very dedicated to their students. I am concerned about the decision of administration to dismiss very valuable and dynamic teachers. The focus of administration on technology and extra curricular programs take a priority over quality teaching at times. The teachers are overall a warm caring group strongly dedicated to their profession. I do feel the upper administration needs to focus on what is going on in the classroom over the 'extras' in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

The WHB school system is outstanding. Teachers have lots of energy. Small class sizes. All students from grade K through 5 participate in Computer Lab, Spanish, Science Lab, Art classes, Enrichment programs. Free summer programs are available daily from 9 to 12 for the entire month of July where children get to choose their own classes from offering such as French Science Art Cooking etc. I love the school, the teachers, the PTA is very strong. Afterschool activities are available for the older grades as well as band and chorus.. my kids aren't old enough for that yet so I can't comment. Lots of extrcurricular activities as well, picnics, square dances, bonfires, game nights, read ins, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

If your child is smart or a quick learner, DO NOT send your child to this school. They do not and will not challenge children who are capable of doing more. The majority of these teachers will not go any further than their job description. Please do not use their aftercare services because your child along with 40 others will be watched by one aide and one high school student who chat the whole time and pay absolutely no attention to your child. WHB elementary used to be a very good school, but all it is now is minimally satisfying.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 69% 48%
Hispanic 2 22% 23%
Two or more races 2 5% 1%
Black 1 2% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 125%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LISA SLOVER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

379 Mill Rd
Westhampton Beach, NY 11978
Phone: (631) 288-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





East Quogue School
East Quogue, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT