Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westhampton Beach Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
I moved to WHB specifically for the schools. I have been thrilled. The teachers are excellent. The principal (Mrs. Slover) knows every child by name and knows everything that goes on in the building. The school holds the children to high academic standards and is very quick to give additional support when it's needed.The school has an active PTA and a great sense of community and school spirit. I can;t say enough good things.

Westhampton Beach Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
We moved here for the reputation- what a disappointment! It's great if your parent teaches in the school, or your kid is a bully...but if you actually bring up your child to be well mannered they will be bullied from day 1! Nothing done to better character education....and should your child be disabled and qualify for a service- good luck! Administration will fight you tooth and nail so do your research! We never should have believed the hype- it has been nothing but a disgusting eye opening experience.


Westhampton Beach Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
Many families have moved here just for the amazing school system. High standards all around

Westhampton Beach Elementary School 3

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
Amen to the December 5, 2008 review. My kids are currently in this school and I am researching alternatives. The prevailing tone of this school is MEDIOCRITY, and I hold the leadership (principal) responsible. Nothing deplorable is going on but neither is anything excellent or inspiring. Makes me sad for the good teachers and for all the students. I believe the school could be greatly improved if there were more parental involvement but feel that the administration is not interested in this.

Westhampton Beach Elementary School 3

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
Most of the teachers at the school are very capable and enthusiastic about teaching. For the most part, they are doing a wonderful job educating our children. And, of course, the small class size and wonderful facilities are all very attractive to us. We are, however, concernced about its leadership. From our personal experience, the principal's leaderhip and judgment do not match the caliber of the teachers and the school's fantastic reputation.


Westhampton Beach Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
WHB Elementary is a WONDERFUL school. I really can't credit the poor reviews seen here. We are a military family and the education my children received at this school was outstanding to say the least. I didn't always agree with my children's teachers on every subject but that dosen't change the fact that they went above and bevond to ensure my children received the best education possible. AND I found as a rule that they were very open to any conversation with me to resolve issues. The comments about Principal Masera are harsh and unfair. one of the duties of the principal is to deal with behavior problems. Roudy children disrupt everyones learning and that's not fair. I've always found Mr. M extremly dedicated to the children of this school. The teachers are amazing and as a rule LOVE the children they teach. Better than ANY private school out there!

Westhampton Beach Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
WHB Elementary seems to have gotten dramatically worse since the arrival of new Principal Ron Masera. He doles out punishment like a zealous prison guard but seems clueless on any issue regarding actual learning. WHB has a few very good teachers and faculty members, but are most tenured and lost their love of teaching long ago. They teach to the middle and are unwilling to go the extra mile, period. If your child is bright or needs extra help, avoid this school.

Westhampton Beach Elementary School 3

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
As a parent my children are served very well at Westhampton Beach Elementary. Most of the teachers are very dedicated to their students. I am concerned about the decision of administration to dismiss very valuable and dynamic teachers. The focus of administration on technology and extra curricular programs take a priority over quality teaching at times. The teachers are overall a warm caring group strongly dedicated to their profession. I do feel the upper administration needs to focus on what is going on in the classroom over the 'extras' in the school.


Westhampton Beach Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2005
- a parent
The WHB school system is outstanding. Teachers have lots of energy. Small class sizes. All students from grade K through 5 participate in Computer Lab, Spanish, Science Lab, Art classes, Enrichment programs. Free summer programs are available daily from 9 to 12 for the entire month of July where children get to choose their own classes from offering such as French Science Art Cooking etc. I love the school, the teachers, the PTA is very strong. Afterschool activities are available for the older grades as well as band and chorus.. my kids aren't old enough for that yet so I can't comment. Lots of extrcurricular activities as well, picnics, square dances, bonfires, game nights, read ins, etc.

Westhampton Beach Elementary School 1

Posted April 06, 2005
- a parent
If your child is smart or a quick learner, DO NOT send your child to this school. They do not and will not challenge children who are capable of doing more. The majority of these teachers will not go any further than their job description. Please do not use their aftercare services because your child along with 40 others will be watched by one aide and one high school student who chat the whole time and pay absolutely no attention to your child. WHB elementary used to be a very good school, but all it is now is minimally satisfying.

Nearby schools

Westhampton Beach Elementary School
379 Mill Road, Westhampton Beach, NY  11978
(631) 288-3800
Last modified Westhampton Beach Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top