Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White Plains Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1523 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

WPMS Highlands Campus is the best choice for a youth who enjoys meeting and learning about people from other cultures. My daughter was lacking in her ELA and Math scores until she came to HIghlands. She is currently in advanced ELA and held Honor Roll her 7th grade year. The Teachers are supportive and motivating especially towards students who enjoy learning. People have said negative comments about this school but you must realize that a child learns how to behave and respect others, AT HOME! It is not the Teachers responsibility to parent the students...they are there to TEACH them and motivate their methods of learning. HIGHLANDS ROCKS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

I chose this campus over Highlands because it was smaller and i heard great things about it. Unfortunately I made the wrong choice and my son has not received the education that my taxes are paying for. The Principal does not run this school well at all (it starts at the top). This school did not prepare my son for high school! If you have to send your child to a middle school in WP please let it be the Highlands campus-go see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

I <3 Eastview. Best School EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has the nicest teachers and princapal and all staff. My favorite school i've ever been to


Posted June 15, 2011

My daughter goes to Highlands Campus. The advanced classes seem to teach a lot of content. She has a few truly exceptional teachers who have pushed her. In addition, there are a handful of really intelligent students in her grade that seem to push eachother on. The music programs are also really impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

Education is not challenging for the motivated and advanced student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2004

This shcool does not always help extremely gifted students. The advanced class sizes are extremely large (25+ students) and bright students can still be bored. There is an excellent enrichment program, but so much time and energy is spent on students below the norm, that students one or more grade levels above the norm are not given sufficient attention. They are not treated as special learners, and not a lot of emphasis is placed on innovative, and intellectual thinking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

My son attends Eastview Middle School. There are many positive things about this school but I have experienced a few serious lapses of communication with teachers. I also believe the principal is lacking in certain essential administrative skills. If you have an average student who is not organized, I don't believe this school is the best choice. If your student is bright and organized, they'll do well there. There are many wonderful teachers, but a few that are less than desirable; but perfection is impossible. Overall, I wouldn't make this choice again. The girls seem to far better than the boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I was very pleased with my son's experience at the Eastview campus of the WP Middle School. It's greatest asset is its teaching staff. I felt the leadership did an admirable job at providing a safe, organized and well controlled environment. The principal and asst principal were very visible and both appeared to know each and every student in the building. On the down side, spots in the advanced classes were limited because of the schools size. Looking back, however, my son had a great experience and the school did a good job at meeting his academic, athletic, artisic and social needs. I would recommend the Eastview campus highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

We currently have a daughter at Eastview Middle School. Our experuence has been very satisfactory. Dedicated teachers, rich eduactional experience, caring counselors make this a terrific place to learn. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My younger son just graduated from Highlands Middle School. At its very best our experience was mediocre. The WP school district appears to be operating in crisis mode. They are woefully unprepared to meet the needs of an ever changing, challenging population. Increasing populations, increasing second language speakers, low socioeconomic groups. All this coupled with unresponsive, unaccountable staff members (administrators on down)makes for a less than enriching educational experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

493 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

505 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

517 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

517 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

510 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 49% 23%
White 2 30% 48%
Black 2 17% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 110%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 145%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JONATHAN BROWN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

128 Grandview Ave
White Plains, NY 10605
Phone: (914) 422-2092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mamaroneck Avenue School
White Plains, NY


Kodomono Kuni
White Plains, NY


Ridgeway School
White Plains, NY


Post Road School
White Plains, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT