Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


White Plains Senior High School 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
Chaotic, dangerous and just a limited number of fine, qualified, inspirational and supportive teachers. The principal is more concerned with her status and salary than her students. A lot of loitering going on in what is supposed to be a place of learning and respect. Wisest to go the private school route or move. Just look at the food fight video at this school and the types involved.

White Plains Senior High School 3

Posted July 31, 2013
- a student
Balance should be established. There is an abundance of extracurricular activities that entertain students like myself; however the school should utilize their budget and their time to benefit the academic excellence of the students with the same devotion or commitment. That is to say learning can and should be fun, and it must engage students in a meaningful, disciplined and challenging academic process.


White Plains Senior High School 5

Posted June 15, 2011
- a parent
I am pleasantly surprised at how good this school is. I think the teachers make it. There have been a few bad teachers here and there but on a whole the teachers are very impressive and will really give a lot of time to students who want to learn. Also this school is large enough that every student is able to find a niche where they fit in.

White Plains Senior High School 1

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
Principal completely removed. Written policies and procedures exsist but not enforced. There is no intervention or guidance for children and not all children are treated equally. If your child is gifted...this is the school for you.

White Plains Senior High School 5

Posted November 21, 2008
- a parent
I have children that attend this school. After graduating from one of the middle schools they adjusted very well. I have found that teachers really do care for their students at this school and there is always extra time that they can go to receive extra help from before school, during study halls and even after. There are a wide range in electives and clubs that can't be found in private schools. If you are worried about your children being challenged enough, almost every course have 3 levels, ranging from a two year class program, a one year regents program and the honors program, beginning in sophomore year students can begin to take AP classes. This can be a wonderful school if you work hard for your education.


White Plains Senior High School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a student
if you really want to do good in school, you can. you cant use the excuse of, oh the techers are mean, they dont care, i couldnt find the right classes for me, because those are lies. it is a great school, and a really eventful one too. theres clubs for everything, and about 4 levels of hardness for each class. it also teaches you a lot about the real world, because trust me youll see everything in that school. im only in my sophomore year and i love it.

White Plains Senior High School 1

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

White Plains Senior High School 4

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


White Plains Senior High School 5

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

White Plains Senior High School 5

Posted May 07, 2007
- a former student
Had one of the best experiences of my life here. Learned a lot from other students and teachers. Didn't regret a single day there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

White Plains Senior High School
550 North St, White Plains, NY  10605
(914) 422-2182
Last modified White Plains Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
White Plains Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top