Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of Our Lady of Good Counsel

Private | 9-12 | 363 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in White Plains

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $361,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

GCA, both the high school and elementary school, was a wonderful experience for me. I attended the school for thirteen years and recently graduated with skills in and out of the class room that will be helpful to me for the rest of my life. GCA taught me morals, instilled strong values and gave me a sense of confidence and accomplishment that I doubt many other schools could achieve. Yes the school has it's goods and bads, as any other school does; however the environment, academics and teachers and students alike are all wonderful. To say GCA prepared me for college is an understatement. I go to the top liberal arts college in the country, with the 9th hardest ranked academics in the country, and I currently hold a 3.0 gpa. I was also one of very few students here who knew how to properly write an essay and a research paper before getting to college. GCA is certainly worth the money and it produces nothing short of excellence in its students. GCA has a 100% college acceptance and scholarship rate. It can't be beat!


Posted February 20, 2014

GCA has the potential to be a great school, but unfortunately, the administration does not have to vision to understand how to get there. The academics are good, but could be outstanding if there was a little better leadership. The biggest problem is the disorganization-which trickles down from leadership. There is also a few very "power hungry" types and frankly, demeaning young women is NOT the way to mold "positive, compassionate, confident" young women. In fact, it does the opposite. Overall, academically it is good. The school is dreadfully lacking in leadership and organization. They also need to employ other administration members who actually WANT the girls to succeed rather than set them up to fail. As a parent and a person who has worked in the "real world", splitting hairs over silly things to show power is not good for morale of any organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

As a recent graduate of GCA HS I can honestly say that the school had a great positive influence on all aspects of my education. GCA teaches its students to be compassionate, selfless and hard working. Academically the school challenges its students to strive to be better and brighter. To achieve this academic excellence among all students, teachers offer support and encouragement. Every teacher is willing to give extra time and effort for any student in need. Underclassmen even receive tutoring from upperclassmen in the National Honor Society if they need it! GCA students are also admitted to outstanding universities such as Carnegie Mellon, NYU, Boston College, Georgetown and many more! Academically, GCA exceeds any expectations and truly prepares its students for college. Out of all the schools in this area, GCA is the best investment. Everyone is involved in some activity or sport. Each student has an opportunity to shine! GCA has a community like no other. Each student can reach their full potential with the help of GCA's caring and efficient administration and staff! It's also in a great location & right near the train station and transcenter! Overall, GCA HS is outstanding!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2013

Going to GCA was one of the best decisions I ever made! The teachers are extremely caring and helpful. They really care for each and every student and make sure that they provide the resources needed to be successful. Besides being outstanding in academics, GCA provides many clubs and activities for EVERY student to be involved in. This helps make the transition to high school less stressful and provides the students with opportunities to grow closer as a community, as well as get involved in the community outside campus. GCA prepares its students not only for college, but the future. If I had not attended, I would not be the "confident woman and compassionate leader" that I am today. I would do anything to relive my years at GCA and strongly encourage everyone who is seeking a wonderful high school experience to attend!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2012

This school has changed so much! From a couple of years ago good counsel high school is nothing, they have teachers that do not lead up to the expectations and the girls all look sad and gloomy, the education has dropped and to be honest ever since sr. Carol left, gca has not been the same. I feel sorry for the girls and my daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

Good counsel is OKAY. From what it used to be, yeah of course it's not the same. The new principle is changing everything and it's turning into Preston. New teachers are inexperience and the teachers already there are slowly starting to crack. At most there is 1 or 2 steacher that cares about their students grades. They almost set you up to fail. I don't know about the middle school but I'd have you know the high school isn't a joy, they are unorganized and they do nothing at all about bullying. All they care about is money. Do your child and your wallet a favor and send them somewhere else,
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2010

I disagree with the person who says the caliber of schools these children go to are substandard..These children are so gifted that many go to the Masters school,,several to regis, brunswick ,holy child ...etc...my son just started at iona prep H,S and has been performing extremely above average....The reason for it GCA is a prep school so all his writing classes and mathmatics are taught at HS level...the classes are small and the attention is high to each student...Send your child here you will be so pleased...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I couldn't find any other school that would top this one. There is no doubt that GCS is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Caring high school with great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I would not have changed my high school experience for another. Good Counsel Academy instilled many values and morals in me, and is was a great stepping stone to prepare for my time now, in Nursing school. The school has it's good and bads, like all other schools. However what stands out is how much this school reaches out and becomes family to you. I graduated with 86 'sisters' and tons of extended family through the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

I love how the teachers look after the girls in such a nurturing way. eg. they notice if their not eating lunch & encourage them to feed their brains & muscles growth & they notice if they have lost too much weight & again encourage them to nutritionally take care of their body. There isn't enough publised about how involved the girls become in helping the unfortunate out. The clubs are the reason i believe & the wonderful teachers who moderate them. They have many fun days & different kinds of events for the students to get to know one another out of the classroom environment which helps with the camaraderie. GCA small school wonderful teachers and always keeping up with the times, not to be forgotten the community volunteers who give of their time & money revitalising the school. Rules are clear & simple, with fair consequences for not heeding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

coming from a school of higher learning...i would say its definately a downgrade...on two fronts education and its activities and the materials..
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2005

Good Counsel High School provides by far a fabulous education for a college preparatory setting. The girls in the school are class A and the teachers are top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

The teachers really love their profession and it shows in the way that they cultivate all of the girls and help them to realize their full potential.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 52%
Hispanic 18% 21%
Black 13% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Laura V. Donovan
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52 N Broadway
White Plains, NY 10603
Phone: (914) 949-0178

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Reach Academy
Valhalla, NY


NY School for the Deaf
White Plains, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT