Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
617 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Archbishop Stepinac High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Our principal, he leads by example. His doors are always open to the students. The teachers follow that same example and it makes us feel important as students.

Archbishop Stepinac High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
It's all in the caring and as long as the teachers continue to show the students of how important they are, that's the incentive that we need as students.


Archbishop Stepinac High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Going into High School is different from elementary and middle school so the adjustment will take some time to getting use too.

Archbishop Stepinac High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Respect is what makes the staff and students successful. As long as we don't lose the respect for each other we will reach our goals.

Archbishop Stepinac High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Caring and compassion is what makes the teachers and students such a great team. The personal touch is real and sincere.


Archbishop Stepinac High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
We are judged by who we are not what we look like. We are given the chance that all students should receive and that is a great education because with out education our choices in life are very few. So we owe our opportunities to our teachers and parents who work together to make sure that we are provided with the best possible education.

Archbishop Stepinac High School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
I am currently a 9th. grader at the school. I was afraid to go to high school because of bulling issues in the past but at Stepinac I felt welcomed right away. The teachers work with you and honestly care about the students. You can tell a lot about a school when you feel comfortable enough to speak with the principal regarding any issues ( no one likes to visit the principals office. The teachers want you to excell so they offer their services to tutor you during the week. Being a minority had me a little concerned at first but the color of my skin has not been an issue, I am judged on my academics and the respect that I give the staff and the students. I commend the principal and the staff for going out of their way to make sure that we become successful in life and I thank them for not giving up on us. The staff understands that we have our days at times but the encouragement, commitment and dedication that we receive deserves a big grateful thank you. Thanks again, Brandonn Baez

Archbishop Stepinac High School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a community member
As an alumni I can recommend Stepinac. It is a college prep school so keep that in mind. If your kid is hard working then you shouldn't have any issues. If you are looking for the school to fix your kid then you need some place else.


Archbishop Stepinac High School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
When we looked at high schools for my son, his middle school principal said "you never hear anything bad about Stepinac, take a look." We followed his advice and we are so happy we did. It is a wonderful school. The adminstration and teachers truly care for the boys. There is much less economic or social or race stratification than the typical high school. The rich, poor, jocks and nerds are all friends. If there are problems, the administration bends over backwards to correct. The Honor Program is great. The boys develop a real bond, like a sports team. There are a wide variety of AP courses. In Junior year, the Guidance Department's SAT prep is taught as a regular class. The Guidance Department has great connections and guides the boys to appropriate colleges with merit scholarships. Parent involvement is encourage. It's been a pleasure to be part of the Stepinac family.

Archbishop Stepinac High School 5

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
Excellent foundation and college prep school...very happy with our first year---strong, well-rounded staff---open communication...great group of boys...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Stepinac High School
950 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY  10605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (914) 946-4800
Last modified Archbishop Stepinac High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top