Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Sorrows School

Private | K-8 | 196 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in White Plains

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $562,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

One of the unfortunate facts about this school is that it has become attractive to families whose children clearly require more assistance and resources than the school can provide. While the educational standards are much higher than the local public schools, over time some classes have been dragged down by a handful of children who have such severe behavioral problems that the whole class suffers as a result. Complaints that are made about bullying and disruptive behavior in classes are met with a repeated we re handling it response, and then nothing changes and there is never any follow-up. When parents complain, privately or in PTA meetings, the school administration spends more time trying to deny there is a problem rather than trying to figure out how to fix it. Parents are very involved in supporting the school through volunteer work and fundraising, which gives the school a close-knit, family-like feel. It tends to be the same families that get involved, largely because of very exclusive cliques as well as the complete lack of action of the school to reach out to new families. The school also does not offer much in the way of after-school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

good school with dedicated teachers and staff. there are sports teams, arts classes, and lots of extra activities such as brownies, cub scouts, an academic fair, a talent show, a school play, etc. the parents are very involved in the extra activities and in coaching all the teams. we like the class size and the school location. we like that morals and ethics are a part of all teachings, not just religion. could improve - more arts focus on more feild trips to expose the kids to the arts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

Our child is in his third year at OLS and we couldn't be happier about our decision to enroll him here. The academics have exceeded our expectations and the School is void of any of the negative stereotypes you might hear about a small, Catholic school. The teachers are highly qualified and committed to the students and the facilities and technology are second to none. He is truly thriving academically. The added bonus is the sense of community that OLS cultivates and supports. Our whole family has benefitted from the experience and we are truly thankful for this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

My eldest child attends OLS, my youngest soon will. So far the experience has been terrific. Nice classmates, friendly parents, and a school administration that really tracks and cares about your kid. No one is just a 'number' here. The education is good, but most importantly, the environment is really welcoming, for both kids and parents. The public schools might get more money, but this little Catholic school has more heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

As the parent of a Kindergartener, I am brand new to OLS. Having been a teacher for the past 11 years, it surpasses my expectations of a private, Catholic school. There is the perfect blend of traditional education with more modern approaches. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The curriculum is outstanding, as are any of the teachers I have encountered. I feel I made the best choice for my child by selecting OLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

I have two children who both go to OLS. We were debating moving to CT for top quality public schools and it came down to my kids thriving at OLS and loving the school (as my oldest stated it is 'fun.') The school has a warm community feel to it and the children get along well and are very polite (no bullies). My children do well in the small school setting. Negatives are that class size tends to be large (but not a big problem since the kids tend to be at same level) and not a lot of extracurricular activities because it is small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

After using the WP Public school system, OLS was a refreshing change for my child. He is now in a more professional, nurturing environment. Not having to bother with CCD is also a plus. Good teachers, small class sizes and a more respectful atmosphere is a plus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Our Lady of Sorrows School is only successful because most of the children happened to come from professional, stable homes. The children tend to be terrible clicky and exclusive and the parents get way too involved with their children's friendship. The principle does nothing to prevent this behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 52%
Hispanic 3% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marie Cecile
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

888 Mamaroneck Ave
White Plains, NY 10605
Phone: (914) 761-0124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ridgeway School
White Plains, NY



Mamaroneck Avenue School
White Plains, NY


Kodomono Kuni
White Plains, NY


German School New York
White Plains, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT