Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the previous posting. The school has experienced alot of turnover over the past few years. Teaching quality is inconsistent;Some teachers are excellent.Others are absolutely horrible. The Administration isn't actively removing those teachers who don't perform. As mentioned in a previous post, if your child is in the "gifted and talented" range then GCA might not be challenging enough for your child. The afterschool program is a joke, with a weak selection of offerings. On the other hand, the 8th graders all seemed to get into great hight schools this year (e.g. Hackley, Greenwich Academy, Ursuline, Masters, Convent of the Sacred Heart, Fordham Prep, Iona Prep).

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
The reviews on here are old. This school has gone downhill jurastically over the past year with new leadership. One of my children has been attending for 8 years now. I would highly recommend going to another private school within the area that offers more programs and activities for your children. My children have been telling me about these crazy rules that are absolutely crazy. I a parent do not even agree with them. Please reconsider if you are sending your child to this school.


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
I am so glad my children have gone to GCA for the past 7 yrs. GCA is blessed with a wonderful principal and intelligent, caring, kind and fun teachers. The class size is small (over 10, less than 20 mostly) and the kids get plenty of individual attention. The KG through 3rd grade classrooms in particular are somewhat small. But the campus is beautiful and quaint. Children who go there feel like part of a family. They have a Terrific music program. Sports program is good, but not exceptional. I saw that some reviewers mentioned that the parents felt the academic program was not challenging enough. My husband & I have been high performing students-valedictorians etc and have very successful careers. Based on my experience, I have to say, if your child is in the "gifted and talented" range then GCA might not be challenging enough for your child. But having been in G&T category before, I want my children to have a great learning experience, happy stress free childhood, have fun and really Enjoy learning and develop good friendships. Those requirements are more than met by GCA. Both my children are high performers and we couldn't be happier with GCA.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 4

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
GCA is fantastic! It is also a great value! Solid academics, nurturing environment, and love of God make it a fantastic school. Both of my children are above grade level in their academics.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
GCA is a great school! All of the 8th graders this year got into their first choice high schools (e,g., Hackley, Rye Country Day, Convent of Sacret Heart in Greenwich, Fordham Prep, Masters, and Good Counsel High School).


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2011
- a parent
Good Counsel has been a wonderful experience for my daughter. She loves the school and the academics are outstanding. It is nice to know that there are affordable, high quality education in Westchester County.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 1

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
i don't recommend this school at all. i pulled my daughter out early on. She is now in high school and when she was applying, none of the kids from good counsel she had been in class with were candidates for the caliber of schools she applied for, ie hackley, marymount manhattan, sacred heart, etc. any public school is far superior to this "academy". save your money and look elsewhere. luckily, my other 2 children were spared from this school and are also doing well.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 4

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
Good Counsel is a very good school. My son is doing very well. Compared to other schools in the area they are about 3-4 months ahead of other children. the teachers are wonderful and very helpful.


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
this school is excellent- i had a great experience teaching AND GOING TO THIS MAGNIFICENT SCHOOL!

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
The school is terrific. Real sense of community and caring. My child's love of Good Counsel goes well beyond the norm. It is directly related to the environment created by the teachers and fellow students. The after school programs are a real benefits. Terrific music program.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
52 North Broadway, White Plains, NY  10603
(914) 761-4423
Last modified Good Counsel Academy Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Good Counsel Academy Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top