Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
164 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
I came from a very unwelcoming, racist school with very mean kids. When I came to GCAE, I immediately loved it there. I'm always excited to go to school and i come home very happy. They offer after school help every day for the middle school, clubs, and sports programs. Right now the Gca girls basketball team is the #1 seed in the league. Besides the activities, they have young, very effective teachers that know how to teach. The class sizes are very small and the teachers get a lot more done with the children. The work is also challenging for the students.It is a very diverse community with everyone friends with one another. If you are looking for somewhere to send you child in the Valhalla area, you should definitely come to the open house on January 31st, 2016 from 12 to 2. Take my word, you will love it!

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter attended GCAE beginning PreK through 8th grade, graduating in 2015. Our daughter’s excitement for going to school each and every day was a joy to see and participate in. The GCAE faculty fosters a commitment to learn and worship as a Christian community. They offer a challenging academic program that develops a love of learning. GCAE teachers are passionate about education and truly care about how well the students are doing in life and in school, promoting personal growth and development. We are very proud parents of a GCAE graduate! Our daughter was easily accepted to her first choice high school and has shown to be completely prepared for the college- preparatory curriculum. We are equally proud of GCAE. When we think about how well our daughter is doing in life and in learning we instantaneously think about GCAE being at the heart of it all.


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
Plastered all over the walls and imbedded in all classroom lessons is the idea of never giving up, to try, try and try again. When you fall down, we will help you get up and move on! I love the fact my children are learning this every day, and feel they can reach out and ask for help, and get it! They have learned they can do it, no matter what the 'it' is!

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
My children go to school happy, come home happy! They are excited to start every day with their classmates and friends. Each day they are nurtured, cared for, and taught! They have learned to question and interpret information, push themselves to consider other ideas, and have been Immersed in service projects all year long. My children have developed empathy, compassion and caring for those less fortunate, those serving our nation and those in need. So glad my family found this wonderful gem of a school to help us grow our children into responsible, caring citizens of our world.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
GCAE provides a truly unique experience for families. Teachers set the bar high and provide the academic and emotional support that each child needs. It's small class size allows teachers to develop critical thinking, problem solving and the ability to work collaboratively in a way that I do not feel is feasible in a larger school setting. Teachers are excellent with communication via e-mail. At the middle school level, laptops are integrated into the program. It provides students with opportunities to develop the 21st century skills needed to be successful in our modern world. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to be a part of the GCAE community. I hope that any parent considering enrolling their child in a private school setting schedule a tour.


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Communication between the teachers and parents is excellent. E-mails are always answered promptly. In addition, they're always available via phone call or in person meeting if it's a more sensitive issue. It's evident that the teachers work diligently to provide students with a great education and a supportive environment.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
From my experience, the amount of homework at the secondary level is just right. It is rigorous; however, the assignments given are aimed to support what is learned in class and are not overwhelming.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Teachers are in consistent communication with parents and are readily available for phone conferences, in person meetings, and via email. Each teacher takes great care to reach each student in his/her classroom and help maximize their abilities.


Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Homework at the Academy is clearly aimed at enriching the curriculum. Teachers are in communication with parents regarding assignments.

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Students are challenged to leave their comfort zone and explore their abilities. Each student is held to a higher standard.

Nearby schools

Good Counsel Academy Elementary School
52 North Broadway, White Plains, NY  10603
(914) 761-4423
Last modified Good Counsel Academy Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top