Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 184 Flushing Manor

Public | PK-5 | 515 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

My son loves this school, he is excited to go everyday. He is a first grader and this is his first year in this school, we were a little worried about the change for him in the beginning. This school has the most friendly and caring teachers and staffs, even the crossing guards is wonderful. My child's teachers are very delicate with lessons and homework. We are glad that we made the change for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

This is the best school ever, in my whole life. I have been here for a whole 6 years


Posted November 16, 2011

Overall the school is "GREAT". Both of my daughters have attended the school, (one graduated last year) and I am very happy with their experience in the school. The teachers are all excellent and are very involved with the children. HOWEVER, I strongly agree with the postings related to the principle being cold, uncaring and ready to dismiss issues related to my children. I am a divorced dad who is very involved in my children's education and the principal has made even the smallest requests extremely difficult to the point that I am considering legal action against her. Do not take this as a bad review of the school....just don't expect anything from the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

My daughter will be attending Kindergarten this year. Her teacher seems hands on and has a really good grasp on the class. Looking forward to the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I removed my daughter from this school last year. It was the best move I ever made. She now goes to Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament and is learning far more than she ever did at 184. I approached the principal with several concerns and was quickly dismissed. The a.p. seemed equally cold and indifferent. Very glad my child is no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I agree with the parent below, the leadership in the school needs a major overhaul. I find the teachers to focus on 'negative' instead of praising the good of the students. The lack of communication is appalling, they have a website that is under utilized and a waste of time. The PTA is wonderful and are always planning fun events for the kids...keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

The leadership at P.S. 184 is really something to be desired. The school offers very little in regard to the arts. The school offers no creative music shows and very little art. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I have two daughters attending PS 184. One are in First Grade and one are in Pre-K this year. It is a excellent school., the staff and teachers are great and helpful. Also, the great student. I'm so glad and happy that my both daughter can be in together at this wonderful school. The Principal and teachers are awesome with creates the school with a fun,clean and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarten at PS 184 and the staff is really great and the school has a great PTA committee. The principal and parent coordinator are caring and very much involved with the kids. They go out of their way to keep parents informed. My other child will be starting in the fall as well. Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

great school,the school is very committed in establishing a safe and well organized environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My son is in kindergarten and so far so good. The school seems to be organized and the staff seems like they are more like family than just co-workers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

P.S.184 is the best school...I've missed it since i got out.The kids are very nice n i've met tons of them...the teachers are awesome n the school creates a fun and safe enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2006

I have two children attending PS 184. Excellent school. I am very happy. Teachers are great, students are great. They give extra help if youre child needs it. Excellent communication between parents and teachers. Music teacher is absolutely wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing. We are a small school with a big heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

PS 184 does very well academically but can always improve. What the school doesn't have is a really working arts program-- funding is a problem as this is a small school and only has Project Arts money for funding. They have written some grant proposals but it is a matter of time until they are awarded. The school has a very active parents association, Learning Leaders and many willing volunteers. Many fo the school activities are family-friendly and for the most part, parents feel comfortable.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted March 10, 2005

I find this school a very safe, happy and clean environment. The teachers and principal take a personal interest in the children, they're not just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 51% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 31% 9%
Hispanic 2 17% 23%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 211%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 247%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 373 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents34489%
Teachers2994%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DORA PANTELIS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

163-15 21st Rd
Whitestone, NY 11357
Phone: (718) 352-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Lukes School
Queens, NY


St Mel School
Flushing, NY


Ps 79 Francis Lewis
Whitestone, NY


Ps 21 Edward Hart
Flushing, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT