Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 209 Clearview Gardens

Public | PK-5 | 672 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2013

Both my kids go to this school. One of my children are in the G and T program . So far with all the teachers both my kids have had , I have nothing but amazing things to say about each and every one of them. The school itself is truly outstanding !!! The entire staff is very friendly and very professional. They really go out of their way for their students, and most importantly the teachers make sure that learning is fun for all children. The fact that my children are excited to go to school every morning is just priceless to me as a mom !! Which parent wouldn't want that ? Thank you PS 209 for giving my children an outstanding education and an exciting , safe and very fun school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

I have only positive things to say about this school and Dr McDonnell. Both my children go to 209...one in the G and T program and one not. Both receive a great education and Dr McDonnell does a great job addressing any issues should they come up. She knows all the kids by name and during all my interactions with her she clearly demonstrated that the kids were her priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Love the school and the staff Dr McDonald is great as well as Mrs Fernandez my kids are very happy their Thank You for making my kids feel good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

I also pulled my child out from the school. Principal played politics and would not do anything to improve the situation. The school only emphasized teaching for standardized tests. Not much value in teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

I am an alumni from 209 and now am a college student. All I can say is that it was the best school I ever went to compared to my junior high school and high school. The staff for the most part seemed very dedicated and interested in helping us learn. I am seeing a lot of negative comments about the principal, I believe ms McDonald. When I attended she was vice principal and then became principal during my last two years. I generally liked her although I can't say that she knew everyone by name. She was happy all the time and was obsessed with smiley faces. To this day I think about visiting my old teachers at 209, except one which i advise you of, the science teacher, ms. keegan. She did not teach my class much from the 3rd to the 6th grade. She would make us copy pages of notes from the board and make us watch eyewitness videos. Then she would test us without really explaining jt and everyone would fail. Otherwise, the school is highly recommended!!


Posted June 13, 2013

Principal should resign. She has an ego, knows everything, yet doesn't know anything. SHe is not a parent so doesn't know the first thing about dealing with kids. I'm glad I smartened up and transferred my children out. The teachers are ok, not great, but then again, these teachers have to go by NYS standards so they basically have to teach for testing which really is a disservice to them since that can't teach anything other than for standardized tests. ANd this school is really focused on these tests and I have heard that they repeated hold kids back and make them go to summer school when they really didn't need to go. BEWARE!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

I agree, the principal should resign and start a career in politics instead because that is all she cares about. Each year, since my daughter has started there, each teacher emphasizes the importance of the State Tests and they all complain about how large the classroom sizes are. I admired that they cared about these State tests, until I found about all the politics that are involved. I have not seen her or any of her teachers do one single thing to help my daughter succeed in her school. As soon as they see your child is struggling, instead of the teachers actually doing their jobs and teaching your children or checking their homework, they mandate that your child get evaluated and go through all kinds of testing and deal with social workers. As soon as you mention to her that one of teachers is not performing well, she becomes nasty and will NEVER take the blame and nothing is done to correct the situation. After four years of only negative news about my daughter and no results, I am pulling my child out of this school that only cares about money and not the well being of my child. Good riddance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

I agree that the principal does not care, but the rest of the administrators care about the children continuously. Although, the work they gave was child's play (was not in ALPHA class, but got into SP in Jhs 194) I was always bullied in the school as well.


Posted April 15, 2012

A great and safe school in a very nice neighborhood. Teachers are excellent and very dedicated. Alpha classes are challenging. Very active PTA and parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

this school is the best!!! there is no other like it!!! i think that the two parents that are saying bad things about it have no clue or there children are just not doing well in this school- why not then send them to another? if the school is so bad take your children out of it! this school is so caring and my children adore everything about even my friends with children in private school are jealous and are thinking of taking their children and putting them in this school!!!!! ps 209 is amazing and they have so much to offer for the children--- their plays are amazing and the kids are wonderful in them, this school is one of the best schools in queens--- dare to find another one like it believe me you wont be able to--- ps209 is above all the rest!!!! bellieve me !!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

If your child is not in alpha class, this school is not ideal. Principle is only focused on the alpha class. Alpha class will not accept new students even your kids improve dramatically. Principle is not nice and kind person. She is very compelling, not listening parents' opinion. She only cares about rating of the school. Some kids with not good manner are directed not to speak to evaluators of the school. During ESL exams for 5th graders, teachere misadministered not to answer some questions and some kids end up with no score. Principle's response is dull and not friendly since this incident happened not in alpha class. I was not satified with this school and principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

I guess my review will not hold on for too long, because it is HONEST. Principal is very self centered and only interested in getting more money in her pocket. She collects misbehaving kids from the whole district, then dumps them all in one class. There is a "madhouse" in the classrooms, but parents are not allowed ( except open shool week) so no one knows what is going on. There is a bullying in the 1 and 2 grade already, but she cares less. Would not even talk to a parents in person. I would not be surprised if she changes the tests answers just to get a better scores and bonuses for herself and those who serve her dearly . Bad School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Great School and excellent staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

P.S. 209 is an important part of our community. Great dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Because the administration cares, so far we have great teachers and families get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

a school with a lot of integrity and balanced learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Although the school seems to have dedicated teachers , some of whom my child loves, I don't think the principal has the children as her top priority. The PTA is frequently being turned down, and at a recent talent show where 30 kids performed, the principal didnt even acknowledge the kids' efforts. The principal has obvious favorites and her disdain for her non favorites is never hidden. Afterschool programs are often turned down or not even considered, the parent coordinator has brought extremely little to the table in regard to new, innovative programs, learning opportunities or outside funding. My child's teachers have all been excellent, but the overall leadership of the school is grossly lacking. It's the principals way or no way....which is a terrible method when running a school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Most teachers are great. The music teacher and science teacher are dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We are very happy that our children are at PS209. It has great teachers, friendly administration, and involved parents/guardians. It is located in a very nice family-friendly neighborhood, very easy to find parking nearby if you want to volunteer at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I love this school because it feels so friendly. The community atmosphere is incredible and I know this is the best school for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Female60%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities19%
General population65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant55%

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities31%
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Female64%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities0%
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%

Math

All Students74%
Female81%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities9%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%

Science

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities80%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Female63%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities5%
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%

Math

All Students64%
Female73%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities16%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 44% 9%
White 1 41% 48%
Hispanic 1 12% 23%
Black 2 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 236%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 504 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents46882%
Teachers3684%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY MCDONNELL

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16-10 Utopia Pky
Whitestone, NY 11357
Phone: (718) 352-3939

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 184 Flushing Manor
Whitestone, NY



St Lukes School
Queens, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT