Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 60 Woodhaven

Public | PK-5 | 1176 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

I love this school. My sons teacher is great and calls me directly if there is any problem. My son loves school and I know its because of his teachers. They let out pretty early and I wish they had an after school program or extracurricular activities. Would love to participate in the PTA but the meetings are during the day which isn t really feasible for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

I have two kids in this school and so far I love the school. I love the teachers that my children have had. I don't have any complaints besides the fact that I wish they had after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Best school,excellent teachers.The only bad thing they come out too early and there's no after school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

i love the school and the teacher are great.... but the only thing about this school that kids come out to early sometime even be for they time.. they ready need to give this kids after school program the list until 5pm we have a lot of parents. that work and it hard for them to get someone to pick up your child .. in this same area they are 3 other school that have after program until 6p.m that not right at all they should do something about this and soon..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

This school was great. I graduated from this school and I went there from Kindergarten to 5th grade, never had any problems. The teachers are great very caring. It's like you have an extended family when you go to school. They give enough homework. Also they treat kids who work hard with many rewards. Trust me this school is the school you want to send your kid to.


Posted September 9, 2011

As a parent i think the kids come out of school to early it was told to me yesterday the first of school the reason why the kids come out early is because some teachers live far for the school and the have to make sure they catch the highway to get home,,,, i don't think that right because this lids need to learn more.. this is the only school that i know that don't have a school school program,, they only going to be there 2 day out of 5 to 325p.m they should make that 5 days a weeks instead of 2days.. they should make extra-curricular after-school activities for our kids... i think the teacher who live far should get a jobs close to they home so they can make a after school for ours kids i know they can do it because others school have them.. i look around... and also i don't think it was right that ours kids that go to PS did not have a change to go out the summer program that they had this summer other kids from other places when i think our kids who go to PS should had first choose and they did not. us working parents it was hard to found someone to put our kids.. so i don't think that was wrong.


Posted April 13, 2011

A school leadership meeting was held and the principal did not discuss his spending according to the chancellors regulations. The PTA president mentioned that parents complained about the smelly boys bathroom and he oddly decided to take away the microwave from the teachers. He scolded the teachers over the loudspeaker the next day during school to yell at them and insist that they monitor the students better. He appears to punish teachers because the boys bathroom smells. No one understands him. He is strange and vengeful.


Posted April 13, 2011

When the upper grade students practice for or take an actual state exam, lower grade students (1st and 2nd graders) are always pushed out of their classrooms and placed into the auditorium. Therefore, 6 to 8 classes sit in the auditorium together (approx. 150 to 200 students) AND ARE EXPECTED TO RECEIVE INSTRUCTION! I am told that this happens very often and is common practice. My friend, who's daughter is in third grade, said that this happened over at least the past 2 years. The principal knows all about this and overlooks this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

they need educators knowing what there job is and how to deal with students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

this school is great. They have good education.Childre have fun there at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I think that there are many elements to this school that both boost and hinder the school's progress. 1) Principal Leadership is over dominating. I feel that he controls every facet of school life and for that matter the parent and parent organizations; 2) The teachers are absolutely great. They take the time to address the needs of all students and really take into considerations the difficulties of all students (whether English Language Learners, Special Education, etc). 3) There are no extracurricular activities in the school. 4) Parents are there, but they do not have the power to address parent concerns, I feel that the Principal wants to control how the parents respond and minimize parental influence in the school. 5) School safety is adequate however, there are times when the kids are left out in the cold instead of let into the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

As a parent of two children, one graduated from the school and one is currently attending I have seen great improvements. The teachers care about the children and the administration is vested in improving the school. I just wish they had extra-curricular after-school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

As a parent of 2 daughters one almost graduating high school and went to ps60 and one that is graduating ps60 .I have no complaints but one in the morning children are left outside when its raining ,snowing and extremly cold weather when its to early to go inside its very awful dont they have kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

As a parent of three children who went to this school, under the new Principal the test scores have gone up and more programs were brought into the building. Yes the school is over crowded but the children live in the neighborhood and are zoned for the school. The Parent Coordinator organizes many events, workshops and grade level activities where parents are invited and encouraged to attend. Translation is always available for those that need it. I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

This school is just terrible. The school is horribly overcrowded. Teachers send home notes with grammatical and spelling errors. My son was told he works 'too quickly' and needs to slow down to the speed of other students! They have no idea how to deal with gifted children at all. They have no recess, in an elementary school(!), and children spend their free periods watching movies! Yet, they constantly complain that the children are too 'restless.' In 3 years, I have never seen the principal at a parent/school event. The staff is often rude and the school is generally chaotic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

Principal displays horrible leadership qualities and does nothing to boost the moral of his staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2006

There are special music programs. The school paid for a music program that bought recorders for the students and they recieve instruction once a week. There is a parent coordinator that tris to get the parent's involved by coordinating different events in the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 30, 2004

There are way more students per class in this school, even though they moved 6th graders to junior high school the classes are still jam packed with less focus on students that need the extra attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

although the teachers in this school try very hard they are way over their heads with the non-english speaking students that attend this school. They hold the other students back and make it very difficult for the teachers to actually teach. The brunt of the teaching is put on the parents shoulders and the amount of homework given on a daily basis is a hardship on the students. There is only a small percentage of teachers who actually care and 'teach', the remainder only 'instruct', there is a big difference between the two. Class size is a joke and children who disrupt the class are not dealed with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

188 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 23%
Asian 16% 9%
Black 6% 19%
White 5% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 42%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1044 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents96592%
Teachers7996%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK DESARIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

91-02 88th Ave
Woodhaven, NY 11421
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 441-5046

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




P.S. 97 Forest Park
Woodhaven, NY


St. Elizabeth
Ozone Park, NY


P.S. 254
Richmond Hill, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT