Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lawrence Woodmere Academy

Private | PK-12 | 283 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Woodmere

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $595,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

This school is terrible. End of story. I've been ignored, treated differently just because of race. Teachers favorite students who have been there since day one. The school is seriously small.. Sometimes less than twenty students a grade. The head master does not do too much. If you do plan on attending, good luck! Lawrence Woodmere Academy is social suicide. Everybody hangs out in a group without socializing with the others. The teachers never see potential, their expectations were way too high.


Posted April 2, 2014

Lawrence Woodmere Academy Every child is a star at this school. The class sizes are small and there is an opportunity to succeed in drama, sports, music and academics. with no judgment nor social issues and drama like public school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

this school is ridiculous too many cliques and rude teachers . its a disgrace to everyone I hated this school with a passion and I hope that school changes . I also hope children in that school will learn how to care and have much respect for others , if your child is unique and is very open minded this school isn't for them , don't let the visits fool you like they fooled me. I really HATE this school :)


Posted October 1, 2013

The school should work on diversity in terms of teachers. There are cliques with the students and teachers. You notice it immediately. Same kids will always be featured in photos, lead in plays, etc.. Your child will have to be strong to survive here. If you have an issue in the middle school, do not expect to get help. The head of the middle school is very unsympathetic and uncaring.


Posted December 16, 2010

It saddens me to hear about unscrupulous board of directors and administrators at LWA. When I graduated from this school, it was not outstanding, but still a good school. That has changed a lot. Parents to whom I recommended LWA, complain about teacher and program cuts earlier this year without warning to the best teachers. The hardest bit to hear is how the school jacked up fees on rising 11th and 12th graders with set price scholarship contracts for the 4 years. This effectively pushed these students out of LWA in the critical years before college, leaving them hanging, scrambling back to public school. The board knew this would happen. It didn't care. The school breached its contract and acted irresponsibly. I am surprised parents have not sued. They should. Its unscrupulous and immoral to offer scholarships and then act so underhandedly. Shame on you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

LWA is a wonderful independent school that encourages students to grow and learn in a safe and exciting enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My son goes to school at LWA and I like it very much. Individual needs are taken care of. The classes are small and the teachers are dedicated. It is expensive, but I feel worth it. There is always room for improvement, but I'd give the school an A-.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I'm a 5th grader at this school. It is awsome!!!! I recommend it to any one! The school is neat, not too crowded, and great teachers!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2006

Excellent academic setting with disciplined students and involved teachers. High level of ineractions between students and teachers and also between parents and teachers. The academic programs are well planned and articulated. The next frontier for the school should be a better consolidation of the core sciences in chemistry, physics and biology. Overall, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

LWA is a nuturing and caring environment. My boys have been there for the last 4 years and the friendships they have forged are wonderful. The faculty is wonderful, the cirriculum is exceptional. The families at the school are very supportive and welcoming. Our experience thus far is phenonmenal - a school that really cares about the welfare of the children and go the extra mile to ensure that they bond as a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

The academic and artistic environment is very good. My son entered LWA in middle school and had an extremely hard time fitting in. The middle school is very clickish and so are the parents. The high school students are less inclined to be clickish because that is when many new kids enter the school. Overall, this is a great place for academics, sports and the arts. It's not the best for making friends until high school. Although the tuition is extremely expensive, it is worth it for all you get. I would advise against entering this school in the middle school years. Tip: If you must enter in middle school be sure to ask how many other new kids have enrolled. My son was the only new kid in his grade which was social suicide. Keep in mind this is a kid who usually makes friends easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

LWA is a great school. It provides everything that I was looking for in a school which are teachers that are attentive and dedicated, an environment that is warm and caring and instills wonderful values in their students and parent involvement. My son looks forward to attending school everyday and he is so excited by his day-to-day activities. He is learning so much and his vocabulary has increased so much in just several months. I am very impressed and I would advise any parent that is serious about their child's education to review LWA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

This school is a complete school with a home school environment. The teachers are so warm and welcoming and my child doesn't realize how much work she is doing because she is having so much fun. She couldn't wait to get back to school from the summer break and now that school has resumed, she is so excited. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

outstanding school with caring, supportive staff. parents often encouraged to be extensively involved in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

Great School. It is a school that provides Leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

LWA is an awesome school. This is my daughters second year and she and she loves it. There is plenty of help with any subject when you need it. There are weekly progress reports so you'll know how your child is progressing. Most of all the staff is extremely friendly, kind and helpful. They are excited about having new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

I believe that diversity of the school population, teacher performance and curriculum format are the main reasons I am very optimistic that my son will excel at law. The tuition is high, but overall I believe that you have to build a solid foundation and invest in a child's education early and law so far has proven that it can do just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I am a former student and I now attend Duke University (LWA Class of 2001 Duke Class of 2005). I would HIGHLY recommend this school to everyone who is interested in their child obtaining the best education possible. The school has a great reputation and the school name can be used just as a top name college. There are very small classes and the teachers actually care about the student being more than a number and learning is stressed to be more important then grades. This allows the students at LWA to perform that much better on standardized test because we weren't taught to just memorize but to learn and apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

this is a wondurful school that provides a safe environment for your children
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 52%
Black 32% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 5% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alan Bernstein
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

336 Woodmere Boulevard
Woodmere, NY 11598
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 374-9000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shulamith School
Woodmere, NY






Reenas Bais Yaakov
Hewlett, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT