Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
283 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lawrence Woodmere Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
doesn't look at each child individually. Staff hard to talk with, unapproachable. Cold. not professionally.

Lawrence Woodmere Academy 1

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
Administration rude, no communication. School not worth the price, a lot better schools out there.


Lawrence Woodmere Academy 5

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Great school and curriculum. My children love the school. The only thing that needs improvement is communication between the Administration and the parents.

Lawrence Woodmere Academy 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
fantastic school Child centered. Teachers really care. Great academics and great community. And, true diversity. Global scholars program is awesome.

Lawrence Woodmere Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
Staff only cares about the students that are high functioning and in the clique. If not forget it


Lawrence Woodmere Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Very unaccomadating, Staff cold. Administration unprofessional with attitudes. Much better schools for the price. School went downhill.

Lawrence Woodmere Academy 3

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
School is ok but at the end of the day it's all about the money. Just pray to God all goes well when your child is there. Right after starting this school my spouse got really sick and our income changed significantly. This school found nothing wrong with ultimately asking that my child do not return and I contact my school district. This was a few months before the end of the school year. Crazy!!!

Lawrence Woodmere Academy 2

Posted April 14, 2014
- a community member
This school is terrible. End of story. I've been ignored, treated differently just because of race. Teachers favorite students who have been there since day one. The school is seriously small.. Sometimes less than twenty students a grade. The head master does not do too much. If you do plan on attending, good luck! Lawrence Woodmere Academy is social suicide. Everybody hangs out in a group without socializing with the others. The teachers never see potential, their expectations were way too high.


Lawrence Woodmere Academy 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Lawrence Woodmere Academy Every child is a star at this school. The class sizes are small and there is an opportunity to succeed in drama, sports, music and academics. with no judgment nor social issues and drama like public school

Lawrence Woodmere Academy 1

Posted October 02, 2013
- a community member
this school is ridiculous too many cliques and rude teachers . its a disgrace to everyone I hated this school with a passion and I hope that school changes . I also hope children in that school will learn how to care and have much respect for others , if your child is unique and is very open minded this school isn't for them , don't let the visits fool you like they fooled me. I really HATE this school :)

Nearby schools

Lawrence Woodmere Academy
336 Woodmere Boulevard, Woodmere, NY  11598
(516) 374-9000
Last modified Lawrence Woodmere Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top