Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of the City Charter School

Charter | K-3 | 279 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Woodside

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $337,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

Ok our school is great.. let's not go over the top everyone giving it 5 stars. It lacks several things parents..and if you're an organized person this School will BUG you. Several events and special days are complete CHAOS. if you have a little one, it makes you uneasy, breakfast time in the morning is also worrisome, kids just run a muck while I don't even know who ''monitors''. I learned fast and starting giving him breakfast at home before and dropping him after.. I was not completely satisfied with Kindergarten teacher either... she was in my opinion, a bit overwhelmed at all times, overlooking several hitting. pushing and fighting incidents. Everyone else and everything else is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

my son has bee at academy from the beginning and is in 2nd grade right now. He loves it. It feels like a family. Everyone is so helpful and accessible. Staff and teachers are amazing. I could t ask for a better school for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Academy of the city charter are terrific, awesome, professional staff and faculty! Excellent school, my kid learn a lot from kindergarten! He know how to count, how to write and read clearly, he loves this school so much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

This is a awesome school it's more like a family everyone is so involved with the children's learning all of the staff are great, I know as working parents you sometimes miss a beat or two but not with AOC you will always be on top.They make it helpful with the google group and I must say couldn't have made a wiser choice for my son's education . AOC ROCKS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

We love this school. The staffs are helpful and friendly, always available to answer your questions. We are very happy with this school. My Child has learn so much and he loves his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

My daughter just started attending Academy of The City this year and I can say with all honesty that it was one of the wisest choices we made as far as her education. We had her enrolled in another school but after the open house, we were sold! The educators are top notch, the principle and his administration go above and beyond to be proactive and get to know each family. Even the Board of Administration head shows up for the children's shows and events. Where else do you see that? I really have no downside to add. Sky's the limit with this school. Well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Awesome school! I love the creativity in the academics and the attention to the social/emotional well-being of the children. The principal is fantastic and has assembled a caring staff. Teachers are enthusiastic, thoughtful, smart and fun. My daughter loves AoC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

It is a great school my daughter is in second grade, the teachers, the principal and the entire staff of the school are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Fantastic!! We transferred in the first year and have never been happier. The principal is incredibly gifted at what he does. He's always available, is in the hallways, in the classrooms and knows all the kids and parents by name. The office staff is friendly and helpful, someone always picks up the phone or returns my email promptly. The teachers have been kind, caring and very tuned into the kids. This is a progressive school that is child centered. Our daughter has been so happy here, and they're all like family to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

This school is amazing!! The staff, principles, teachers, security are excellent!! I was devestated when they moved to wood side because the kids and I finally found a school we loved!! I changed them to a closer school and it's a nightmare. I wish I could get them back in to our favorite school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Richard Lee
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (718) 785-9592
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31-29 60th Street
Woodside, NY 11377
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 487-9857

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lexington School For The Deaf
Jackson Heights, NY


St Joseph Elementary School
Long Island City, NY


Ps 70
Long Island City, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT