Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 11 Kathryn Phelan

Public | K-6 | 1291 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

It's a great school. Teachers are very helpful. Best elementary school in the neighborhood. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Let me tell you something , my son was studied in 153 maspeth school that staff's school they were so mean never paid attention to his schools problems not therapies not nothing, but when I moved my kid to ps 11 the principal and their staff care him rigth away with therapies, today my son is developing so fast. Thanks God first and ps 11.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

Here I went through some comments and found that some parents are upset about principal. But I didn't find any negative things about child education in this school. My child also goes to this school and happy to be part of it. Teachers are great and they are very helpful. Thank you ps11.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

When there is no good feed back postings from the Parent body, some teachers coming forward to give 5*. It is pathetic. When a genuine feed back is given by somebody, it is deleted in no time! The school administration is VERY BAD and their approach to problem solving by the principal is notorious. No problem from parents is solved in this School. Either shut up or put up if opening mouth against the Principal - totally authoritarian attitude! Regarding the school environment, bullying has priority not only from some students also from some teachers and principal taking numero uno position! If you want spoil the future of your kid, yes, this is the school to go! There is no priority for learning activities. For every simple reasons, the school is closed! If you want to prepare your child for City test, then better arrange private tuitions! Students go to this school to make attendance - a requirement for the city! Some students go only for fun! There are meetings of all kinds for all things but no voice for parents! No student can talk! You can also see Principal's entire family among the staff! You really can win!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

PS-11 has the Principal and many of her family members as staff making it a family run business! Principal never listens to people with concerns! Principal targets students whose parents are not "yes mam" parents! No vacancy to outside world most of the time! All discriminatory practices are in place! There are many factual stories about security breaches in the school! Some children are targeted if their parents raise some genuine concerns! However, some teachers are good!School is NOT recommended to any new student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Parents who are considering PS 11 for next year need to know a few things: Mistrust of parents and students is assumed before trust. I have witnessed teachers and administrators screaming at parents for not following a certain rule. No note sent home kindly asking- which would have been the respectful thing to do- just screaming in front of the school at pick up . The behavior code is very rigid. A student is expected to sit straight, eyes on teacher and not lift a finger while the teacher is lecturing. Teaching a child to be obedient is second to actual academic learning. Despite what they say, this school employs a very teacher centered approach. The teacher is the final word and generally a student's opinion will not be given consideration. Any creativity or analytical thinking a student has the potential of developing will be stifled. Phonics is barely taught in their reading program. If you have a child in need of a rigid and behavior controlled academic program- then PS 11 is for you. If you have a bright, eager to learn, well behaved child- please reconsider sending him/her to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My school is an excellent, supportive and safe community that cares about all its members.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2013

My daughter is now in 5Th grade. She is in honor class. She was also in honor class last year in 4th grade. I can say as I observe her when shes doing her homeworks that my daughter's teachers are very very good. ... Very effective teachers.. And im so thankful of that... Thank you PS 11 Woodside Queens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

The school is a wonderful caring community that see children as children and not a number. THey try to educate the whole child ensuring that they are in a safe, plesant environment with adults that truly care for them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2013

Great School! The Board of Education should take notice. Amazing place, many of the teachers and parents are ex-alumni, not a big surprise with the little engine that could! It needs funding to solve it's overcrowding. Very lucky to have my children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This school was a great school be in, i love the way the teachers gave the students discipline and the way they had the students learned. You should also know that this school has honor classes and that could help your child learn in a faster pace.


Posted July 21, 2013

Speaking as a parent of four children- three that attend this school, school leadership team member, and civic group board member I must applaud the principal and staff of P.S.11. They go above and beyond their titles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

the teachers are great/good, but the principal is not. she does NOT listen to parents' opinion. yes, she offers a "meeting" with parents and teachers, but she will NOT let parents talk. i do NOT recommend this school at all. also, when i asked her why the security won't ask my id when i entered the school. she told me that those security people are professional and can remember all the students parents/grandparents... over 1000+ students parents/grandparents faces???? i don't think so. oh btw, the school gets are ALWAYS open, which means that anyone can come and go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

I'm a student at P.S. 11 Queens in my opinion this school is the best! The teachers supports the children's dreams and treats them with kindness that can't be measured. The time that i had spent at P.S. 11 Q was great and i'm looking towards another great year at this school. I hope if you send your child to this school they will have fun and learn about new things that interest them. The teachers in the school make subject fun to learn and if you need help on any subject they will do anything to help you understand the subject. THIS IS WHY I THINK MY PARENTS CHOSE THE RIGHT SCHOOL FOR ME.


Posted August 28, 2011

I have a great experience with my children in this school. They are so kind, sweet and profesionals, evry body help and the kids learn having fun at the same time. Congratulations PS11.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

Ps 11 is an awesome school. Many new experiences. I love all the teachers and staff


Posted November 9, 2010

Always was a top school, with a good curriculum and still is.....................
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

PRINCIPAL'S PRIMARY FOCUS IS ON EACH CHILD'S EDUCATIONAL, EMOTIONAL, SOCIAL,PSYCHOLOGICAL WELL BEING. TEACHERS EXTREMELY DEDICATED AND REGULARLY REMAIN IN SCHOOL BUILDING 2-5 HOURS PAST 3:00 PM ATTENDING TO STUDENT NEEDS AND PREPARING AND PLANNING STIMULATING LESSONS. EXTREMELY DEDICATED ADMINISTRATORS AND STAFF. VERY HARMONIOUS AND FAMILY ATMOSPHERE IN WHICH EACH CHILD'S EDUCATION IS PARAMOUNT.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2010

Our children represent our future and P.S. 11Q. is helping students in achieving the dreams and goals of the future that we all share.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I always loved P.S. 11. The teachers are great and friendly (here's a shout-out to Mrs. Kamber, Mrs. Bitran, Mrs. Bilihoutis, Mrs. Persampire, and others - oh, I miss them sooo much). The environment was where one felt at home - who didn't love the playground? Everyone looks forward to the holiday fairs, plays, birthday parties in the classes - I had the best years there. I miss this school so much. I can't help but want to go back in time and enjoy the years all over again!!! Please, P.S. 11 deserves to win because it's so awesome and the kids are actually cared for and taught well, unlike in other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 49% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 40% 9%
White 2 10% 48%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 127%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 186%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 819 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents60254%
Students13591%
Teachers8293%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANNA EFKARPIDES

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

54-25 Skillman Ave
Woodside, NY 11377
Phone: (718) 779-2090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Razi School
Queens, NY




Ps 150
Sunnyside, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT