Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 151 Mary D Carter

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2012

My kindergarten grandson is having an amazing experience at this school in just a few short weeks. Before he came to this schoo,l we couldnt get him to say a word about his day, since he transferred here, he cannot stop talking about what he has learned and the interesting things he does everyday. Not to mention how thrilled my daughter is to have such caring and nurturing teachers and staff members making this a great experience for her son and for herself. Parent/teacher/staff communication is wonderful. We look forward to his continuing education at this school.


Posted June 16, 2011

This school has awesome teachers, too bad I can't say the same for the principal. The principal is only concerned about the french dual language program, and that is questionable since he is cancelling the classes for the 2nd and 3rd graders this coming fall. The school is in dire need of a new leader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2011

Our daughter is in her second year at 151's French-dual language program. She began with no French experience at all (English and Spanish fluency). So far she's doing excellent and loves the school. I look forward to how she'll speak French at the end of the program. The school itself used to have a low rating but has made great strides since Mr. Goldner took over as principal. I think he's doing a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

My daughter is on dual language - 2nd Grade. Her teacher is wonderful and my little start to have conversation in french... My house is far from the school but I am so please with the school that I am putting my little boy next year at PS 151 too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

Thank you to all the Staff for their work and involvement to get this school to a higher level. My son is on 1st grade dual language English/French, he did some remarkable progress this year. There is a PTA (parents teacher association) meeting every month but also a breakfast with the principal every month and a good communication with teacher as you pick-up your kid. Thank you again......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

2 of my children are in PS 151. My daughter is in PreK and I have really seen an improvement: she sings a lot, they do a lot of activities (soup, fruits salad....), they go regularly to the playground. The trailers they are in are just fine (less crowd to pick up the kids). And school hours are good: from 8:10am to 2:10pm. My second child is in the dual language english/french class and he likes it a lot. Overall I am very pleased with PS151.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

This school has a wonderful dual language program English/French for children entering kingergarden and 1st grade. My son is in the program and I am very pleased with the results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

At first I was not happy with my son attending this school because of all the previous reviews and comments. But I am impressed with the improvements the new principal is making. When I speak to other parents that have their children in private or charter schools they are also impressed how at P.S.151 we have monthly parent meetings, monthly student of the month award ceremony, and how much the principle encourages parent comments and involvement. I am now proud to say that my son is attenting this school. I want to thank the principle for his great work and support him in the goals he has for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 53% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 18% 9%
Black 2 14% 19%
White 1 14% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 121%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 286%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 57%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 228 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
3.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents20049%
Teachers2867%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JASON P. GOLDNER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50-05 31st Ave
Woodside, NY 11377
Phone: (718) 728-2676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph Elementary School
Long Island City, NY



Ps 70
Long Island City, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT