Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 1319 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

Hey this school is the BEST elementary school ever. I graduated from this school 2 years ago. The staff was very nice and I made some of my best friends there. I don't regret going here.


Posted April 2, 2013

This school has its ups and downs. Both my kids have attended this school and upto the 3rd grade they are in good shape but once they start hitting the higher grades is when the trouble starts and i have recently discovered that the teachers weren't aware that the reading levels in the books they use were "off" some teachers even going as far as stating other teachers in lower grades don't know what they are doing. There are others that just belittle you and think they can automatically disregard you. Its hard because there are some really good teachers there that i am sure are forced to do things they don't enjoy and honestly i think this is one of those schools that paint a better picture of the school than what it really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! The best teachers for me are the 3rd grade \teacher mrs.cirella and a fourth grade teacher ms.cheug im recently in 4th grade i never wanna leave


Posted February 7, 2013

Its a good school.My son was a student of Ms Sharma and Ms Lopez. They are wonderful teachers. Their way of handling kids are different but my son was so happy. We as parents owe them a lot for boosting our son's confidence and ability. The test preparation methods are excellent .But the school should put the better academic kids in separate honors classes like before. With the average students in the same class they hardly get a chance to improve more.The authority should think about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

Proabably, I am going to graduate this year from PS 152. I just love this school and the teachers that I had. They are the best and most of all the kindest. The school gives a lot of test prep for the NYS Test. Just Awesome!


Posted October 7, 2012

Hi, I just recently graduated in 2007 and I love the school since I was not a fluent English speaker because it was not my first language , my Kindergarten teacher Mrs.Sharma helped me a lot to improve my English. Also, she helped me become an independent young women I am right now. She is a dedicated hardworking teacher who helped me a lot and now I speak fluent English. Thank You Ms.Sharma !!!


Posted April 19, 2012

I would be unable to rate teh school today, because I attended First grade in 1948. (There was no pre k then. I have fairly good memories, tho. I do remember the wooden floors, my name on a card, stuffing easter bunnies, playing a triangle on stage. Seemed an ok school to me. I was 5. I dont remember any lessons in reading, tho, which gave me a challenge when I moved to Miami in 1949. I do remember a 7 year old girl. "Boy, was she old" I remember thinking. ...another thing...my teacher sent me to the bathroom 3 times to wash my face (She didnt realize it was a birthmark). Children were well behaved. Must have been 40 in the class.


Posted May 16, 2011

Unfriendly and unprofessional staff. The teachers don't have as much control over the children as they should, and they don't seem to know how to deal with them to address certain problem. The parent teacher communication is minimal. They isolate the children that are classified as "trouble makers" without talking and trying to reason with them first or notifying the parents. As a parent i visited this school 4 times during the school year and each time witnessed rude, inappropriate yelling at the children without apparent reason. There are street vendors of cotton candy and ice cream in front of the school doors every day during the pick up time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

Great teachers, that's the most important aspect for me. I wish the office staff was more friendly and competent. Every time I'm at the school, it is calm and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2010

my daughter has been going to this school since 2nd grade and this is the school i reccomend to your children too. this is the best elementry school in ny in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My mother, uncles, siblings and i wnet here even my children best school in the world! Caring commited and skilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

wonderful kind teachers who love our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

yes this is a wonderful school, I have two of my kids attending this school..but the principle runs the school his ways. He is not a good principle he's rude!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

PS 152 is a wonderful school; but we have a principal that is ruining the school with his ways. The principal at this school harasses teachers and is a bully. This principal only critices or demeans teachers
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2008

I graduated from this school about 2 years ago. I've learned so much as the years went by and when the time came to graduate it was sad to leave to school & move on. All the teachers care so much and the people there are just amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2004

Hi. My daughter is graduating this year, 2004 from 6th grade but my son is still in this school.I don't have words to express my feelings about this school. This school is excellent because principal Mr. Robert Burke has some good rules and disciplines and he follows them very strictly, like uniform policies,children behavior in school.At the dismissal time he makes sure that each and every child is safe and reaches to its destination securly. My daughter had passed her 7 beautiful childhood years in this school. She came in when she was 5 years old and now she is graduating. All her teachers, security guards, office staff, nurses, lunch teachers are nice and they all love her so much.You will not be regretful if you put your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

Hey! I'm graduating 152 this year and I just love this school. Sure, it might be a little strict sometimes, but the teachers and principals are great! You can definitely become friends with the teachers becuase they are always there for you. That school also has great councils like Ms. Wilson. She was my councelor & I know that everybody that goes with her enjoys her as much as I do. If you want to put your child in a safe, great school, P.S.152 should be your #1 choice!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 51% 9%
Hispanic 1 45% 23%
White 2 3% 48%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 233%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 48%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 641 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents55748%
Students49100%
Teachers3543%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. VINCENT VITOLO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33-52 62nd St
Woodside, NY 11377
Phone: (718) 429-3141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 69 Jackson Heights
Jackson Heights, NY


Garden School
Jackson Heights, NY


Lexington School For The Deaf
Jackson Heights, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT