Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a community member
Hey this school is the BEST elementary school ever. I graduated from this school 2 years ago. The staff was very nice and I made some of my best friends there. I don't regret going here.

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 1

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
This school has its ups and downs. Both my kids have attended this school and upto the 3rd grade they are in good shape but once they start hitting the higher grades is when the trouble starts and i have recently discovered that the teachers weren't aware that the reading levels in the books they use were "off" some teachers even going as far as stating other teachers in lower grades don't know what they are doing. There are others that just belittle you and think they can automatically disregard you. Its hard because there are some really good teachers there that i am sure are forced to do things they don't enjoy and honestly i think this is one of those schools that paint a better picture of the school than what it really is.


Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a community member
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! The best teachers for me are the 3rd grade \teacher mrs.cirella and a fourth grade teacher ms.cheug im recently in 4th grade i never wanna leave

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Its a good school.My son was a student of Ms Sharma and Ms Lopez. They are wonderful teachers. Their way of handling kids are different but my son was so happy. We as parents owe them a lot for boosting our son's confidence and ability. The test preparation methods are excellent .But the school should put the better academic kids in separate honors classes like before. With the average students in the same class they hardly get a chance to improve more.The authority should think about it.

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a community member
Proabably, I am going to graduate this year from PS 152. I just love this school and the teachers that I had. They are the best and most of all the kindest. The school gives a lot of test prep for the NYS Test. Just Awesome!


Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted October 07, 2012
- a community member
Hi, I just recently graduated in 2007 and I love the school since I was not a fluent English speaker because it was not my first language , my Kindergarten teacher Mrs.Sharma helped me a lot to improve my English. Also, she helped me become an independent young women I am right now. She is a dedicated hardworking teacher who helped me a lot and now I speak fluent English. Thank You Ms.Sharma !!!

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 3

Posted April 19, 2012
- a community member
I would be unable to rate teh school today, because I attended First grade in 1948. (There was no pre k then. I have fairly good memories, tho. I do remember the wooden floors, my name on a card, stuffing easter bunnies, playing a triangle on stage. Seemed an ok school to me. I was 5. I dont remember any lessons in reading, tho, which gave me a challenge when I moved to Miami in 1949. I do remember a 7 year old girl. "Boy, was she old" I remember thinking. ...another thing...my teacher sent me to the bathroom 3 times to wash my face (She didnt realize it was a birthmark). Children were well behaved. Must have been 40 in the class.

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 1

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
Unfriendly and unprofessional staff. The teachers don't have as much control over the children as they should, and they don't seem to know how to deal with them to address certain problem. The parent teacher communication is minimal. They isolate the children that are classified as "trouble makers" without talking and trying to reason with them first or notifying the parents. As a parent i visited this school 4 times during the school year and each time witnessed rude, inappropriate yelling at the children without apparent reason. There are street vendors of cotton candy and ice cream in front of the school doors every day during the pick up time.


Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
Great teachers, that's the most important aspect for me. I wish the office staff was more friendly and competent. Every time I'm at the school, it is calm and welcoming.

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School 5

Posted June 13, 2010
- a parent
my daughter has been going to this school since 2nd grade and this is the school i reccomend to your children too. this is the best elementry school in ny in my opinion.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School
33-52 62nd St, Woodside, NY  11377
(718) 429-3141
Last modified Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 152 Gwendolyn N Alleyne School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top