Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C E Walters School

Public | K-4 | 843 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

My daughter is in kindergarten & this school leaves a lot to be desired. She is afraid to ask her teacher for help with anything! She is terrified of her & her punishments of humiliation. She's been bullied by her classmates, who have taken her belongings & called her names. Her teacher is less than responsive when I try to address issues & I think makes it worse for my daughter. Hoping she won't have to return there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

I'm a parent to an elementary aged student. They have enjoyed being here and learnt a great deal. Loads of homework, very dedicated teacher. Staff are nice enough. Only thing negative I have to say is that they discourage parents from drop off and pick up, making it difficult to meet other parents. Overall, very happy with cew.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

I like this school. They have so many programs and activities like father daughter dance, monthly activities for parents to come into students classes. The teachers and principle show they care. Active PTA. I am overwhelmed how many things go n at the school but that's good. I just think the classes are big and my daughter in 2nd grade. Since kindergarden they have level books from A-Z and they always start her at a low level and don't realize till I tell them the books are too easy then they move her up at 2 levels it happened twice n we work very hard to keep her ahead of the game!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

Our daughter recently completed Kindergarten at CEW and she had an amazing year thanks to the wonderful staff, excellent teachers and comprehensive & academically challenging programs being implemented. This district uses a great phonics program as well as a super reading/writing philosophy. She is performing one year ahead academically in part because of all these factors. Books were sent home for nightly reading very frequently throughout the year. This district provides some wonderful academic opportunities, if taken advantage of including science & literacy events. Additionally, our daughter's teacher(s) were willinging to allow us into the classroom to read to the class & participate in many special events. The Assistant Principal was very helpful throughout the year. However, the Principal was not receptive to parental feedback and/or suggestions. There was an issue in the very beginning of the school year as she was not properly placed in a class nor did we receive information in time for her to see her classroom along with her peers (we registered on time). Overall, we have been very pleased with our daughter's Kindergarten experience at this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

My Daughter is now a Middle School student however she attended CEW for many years. I didn't care much for the school. They do very little with the childern and don't include the parents in much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I love this school!!!My daughters are better people thanks to this school. My six year old can read at a third grade level, my nine year old was awarded by the town (for her art)thanks to the wonderful teachers that are at this school!!! They take the time to care and help when my girls need them and award them with more than just stickers but a feeling of self worth.My daughters in the graduating class this year and I hope the middle school can hold a candle to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

My son attended this school for two years and then transferred to another Elementary School in the same district when we moved. The other poster had it correct when they said they are 'just average'. He now attends Ridge Elementary school and we both couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Parental involvement is allowed very little in CEW. The school is more concerned with what the children's test scores are rather than what they are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

I have two children who attend this school... for my child with more needs I find the school lacking what I feel there should be in place to help a child grow emotionally and acedemically. However for my other child who is the average kid, I find his experience to be average, nothing special but no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Female23%
Male19%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities3%
General population25%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Non-migrant21%

Math

All Students21%
Female21%
Male23%
African American6%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities7%
General population25%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Non-migrant21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Female36%
Male27%
African American39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities6%
General population36%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

Math

All Students35%
Female34%
Male37%
African American28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities3%
General population43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%

Science

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities80%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 48%
Hispanic 20% 23%
Black 11% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 67%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LINDA CORNIGANS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Everett Dr
Yaphank, NY 11980
Phone: (631) 345-2757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sappo School
Medford, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT