Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palisade Preparatory School

Public | 7-12 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2014

I made so many good friends in this school and I recently graduated. The school is small, but that's what makes it awesome because everyone knows each other. The teachers are always there to help and have helped me throught my years. I am proud to say I was part of the graduating class of 2014.


Posted May 2, 2014

I am a firm believer that good kids start with a strong home. I also believe that while my children are in school, the school is responsible for them 100%. I have two kids in this school, and the administration has done a great job and helped them greatly. There is an overcrowding issue, but the teachers DO care AND work hard, and the administration does a great job at keeping the kids safe. I work closely with the school, I'm involved in my kids' educations, and I don't leave my job up to the Board of Ed to handle for me. This truly makes a difference in our children's lives. No one loves our kids more than us, their parents. Let's not expect professionals to care more than we do and do what we are supposed to do. By the way, kids who are "street-oriented" as the one review states below, deserve a great education as much as anyone else. I'm offended that you would have the nerve to say to make a such a statement. What nerve! PARENTS - GET INVOLVED, CARE, BE THERE, AND TEACH YOUR KIDS. The rest will come accordingly. This is a great school, filled with people who care about their jobs and the kids in it. Great work Palisade! THANK YOU FOR WHAT YOU DO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My son graduated from this school and was accepted to college . Job we'll done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I absolutely agree with the Post made on June 1st, 2013. I have a child in High School here. School was great when it first began back in 2008. Now unfortunately the school has become extremely overcrowded and most teachers/and staff really don't care about the children. The quality of this school has taken a huge drop in the quality of teaching and teacher&staff involvement w/their students. The Principal is great but truly hoping that she can turn this school around(especially w/the staff).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

Parents be aware that this school is no longer funded by Bill Gates since two years because the school could not get the sat/testing scores high enough. I middle schooler in this school. The school is under a better principal and asst. principal which helps; however, due to a large amount of students that are more street oriented the school still needs to improve. Daily fights/bullying are a huge issue in school. They also have a few teachers that don't care and do stereotype the students based on the ethnic population of students that attend the school. I unfortunately found out this information to late maybe this will help someone else to consider other schools as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Under the leadership of the new principal that came this year, Palisade Prep has turned around, and we are striving to be one of the best schools in the county!


Posted October 15, 2010

The Principal and the dedicated teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Palisade Preparatory because it truly cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Great staff, very good program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I am a sophmore parent with two children enrolled in 7th and 9th grade respectively. The curriculum, dedicated teachers, and professional staff/administration have definitely made an impact. My 9th grader is truly excited about school now. The high expectations of the staff match those of my husband and myself and is evident in both children's increased effort and performance. My 7th grader who has made honor and high honor roll twice last year is now focused on the prinicipals list which has also inspired my 9th grader. I believe this is a direct result of the schools willingness to partner with parents to ensure the success of all students by providing a positive learning environment that is challenging yet caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Palisade Prep. is a public secondary school focused on preparing our students for success in college. We are a small school where all students and staff know each other and work together to create a supportive learning environment. We do not have selective admissions but believe that all students can achieve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2010

Palisades Prep's main goal focus is to prepare to students for their future college education. $20,000 can go along way in enhancing our childrens education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Interact with parents exelent!!! They encourage a college education for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

-Principal leadership not good -This year is much better with the hands of the new assistant principal, Ms. Des Soye. -This school has a small learning environment but the bad thing is that there are no honors classes available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

It is an excellent school and with excellent teachers. I'm proud to say my children attend Palisades Prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The Staff & professionalism are excellent!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
12%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students10%
Female17%
Male4%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population11%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Math

All Students3%
Female2%
Male4%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic2%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged1%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population3%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English3%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant3%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students9%
Female13%
Male5%
African American7%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English10%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%

Math

All Students1%
Female2%
Male0%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged1%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English1%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant1%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
17%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
31%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
26%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
27%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
27%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
56%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students13%
Female20%
Male8%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population13%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant13%

Chemistry

All Students23%
Female25%
Male21%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Non-migrant23%

Earth Science

All Students6%
Female5%
Male8%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population8%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English7%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant6%

English

All Students66%
Female64%
Male66%
African American59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities31%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Geometry

All Students13%
Female11%
Male14%
African American15%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population14%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%

Global History and Geography

All Students72%
Female72%
Male72%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities44%
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Integrated Algebra

All Students38%
Female42%
Male34%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities21%
General population40%
English language learners12%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%

Living Environment

All Students49%
Female46%
Male52%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities5%
General population53%
English language learners9%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
African American72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities33%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 50% 23%
Black 2 38% 19%
White 2 10% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 187%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE YAZURLO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Palisade Ave
Yonkers, NY 10701
Phone: (914) 376-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT