Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside High School

Public | 9-12 | 972 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

I went to this school as a freshman and Im a junior now. This is a pretty awesome school I mean like the engineering classes arent fun but who cares about that. You get a good eduction, I've never seen bullying so I dont know what that person is talking about. I still have friends there and I want to go back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2013

the school is horrible point blank dont get caught up in the lies they are telling the bullying is the worst and the teachers and staff will say "theres nothing they can do" so have your shot gun ready for when you child comes home because theres nothing but DRAMA!!!! can i rate the school a ZERO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Excellent school. I personally recommend , principle is strict and Every thing about this school is just good. ( 9th grade )
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2011

What time does class start and when does it end more or less in Riverside High school this September?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

My daughter is a new student in 9th grade, who has always been in private schools previously. So far, everyone at Riverside has been welcoming and attentive. The facility is brand new, and she seems to like it so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

i go to this school and i feel like it is being underated .The teachers are great along with our great principles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2008

I used to go to museum middle school b4 it became a high school. Musem middle was a wonderful school and i learned alot form the great teachers and friends that i have made there. I go to Catholic school now nd i love it but sumtimes i miss all the friends i have left behind and now i truly appreciate that i had the oppurtuinity to go there nd hope i sttay close to the people that stayed there.


Posted January 28, 2007

Well, as a student here at Museum I really think it is a wonderful school. Its just sad that another group of 6 graders wont be able to experience the wonderful 6th grade at Museum because in the 2007-2008 school year Museum Middel will no longer be a Middel school. The future Riverside High School for Engineering and Design will continue to house their current 6&7 but will NOT accpet current 5th graders. I will be staying at RHS b.c i beleive it will have alot of WONDERFUl things to offer. We were recently shown 'blue prints' of how the school will look and i must say I CANT WAIT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2005

Museum Middle School, is a very intent school, some of the time they run a little low on class supplies but all in all the teaches teach well, This year I am going to eigth grade, and boy am I excited. I've talked to the teachers personally, and I know that my teachers care. They helped me to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2004

I'm an 8th grader at Museum. I love the school, and like many it's my second home. But such a wonderful school is being destroyed by budget problems. I was on all the girls teams. It's a shame my education is going to be waisted because of the Yonkers public schools. But the shocking fact is, that my school, the number one middle school in the district is steadily going down hill. I advise private schools, but if you're like me and can't afford a school, definatly go with Museum Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2004

The quality of education given at this school is outstanding. The teaching staff is fabulous. They are genuinely concerned about the welfare of the students there. Safety has a lot to be desired but that is the fault of Yonkers Public Schools. The lack of safety officers and weak disciplinary actions and follow through from 'higher powers' make it difficult to learn and to teach. The Gifted and Talented Program is exceptional bar none.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 3, 2004

Museum Middle School is two schools within one building. The AT and Regular parts of school mix during day, so it is not truly a 'Gifted' school atmosphere. The only subject which is accelerated at Museum is Math which is how students are placed for classes. If a student is gifted in any other area, forget about it, because Museum will not challenge them. The school buses have to have monitors on them because there are fights on the buses, with the police being called for some of the incidents. I feel that Museum school should be a safer learning environment, in the classrooms, in the halls, in the cafeteria, and in the buses. Finally, the students do not get to go outside for recess, but stay in the cafeteria the whole time. Isn't physical exercise just as important for good health as food is?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

I love this school! I was really nervous when I was going to start middle school, but I settled in very well. Now I'm an 8th grade student, and I'm really going to miss this school. I'll miss the teachers, the security guards, the afterschool activities, and the principals. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2004

I am parent that is looking for a school for my child in Sept. and today at 5:30 I called and spoke with the principal. I was pleasantly surprised by her willingness to talk and help me gather information. If only all principals left that type of impression on everyone they met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Museum Middle School gave my child a high quality education. They also provided a safe atmosphere and the field trips were educational and fun. I highly recommend Museum Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
8%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
31%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
25%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
43%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
40%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
44%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students15%
Female4%
Male28%
African American10%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Not migrant15%

Chemistry

All Students29%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population29%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English29%
Not migrant29%

Earth Science

All Students22%
Female18%
Male25%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities9%
General population24%
English language learners7%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant22%

English

All Students65%
Female66%
Male65%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities39%
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%

Geometry

All Students21%
Female15%
Male26%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant21%

Global History and Geography

All Students33%
Female33%
Male34%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White8%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities11%
General population38%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant33%

Integrated Algebra

All Students34%
Female35%
Male35%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities16%
General population39%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant34%

Living Environment

All Students44%
Female43%
Male45%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities13%
General population51%
English language learners18%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant44%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students64%
Female61%
Male66%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities27%
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 60% 23%
Black 1 32% 19%
White 1 5% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 189%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. STEVE MURPHY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

565 Warburton Ave
Yonkers, NY 10701
Phone: (914) 376-8425

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gorton High School
Yonkers, NY


Greenburgh Academy
Yonkers, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT