Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Yonkers, NY
Students enrolled: 1,155
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gorton High School 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a student
Gorton is a horrible school and has been for the past twenty years. It seems to be getting worse and worse. The teachers are lazy and rude. They show lack of respect towards students. The students are nasty, there is a lot of bullying and fights. No one pays attention in class - it is hard to learn because kids distract the students who care about their education. Some kids can't read or solve simple math problems. Its really sad. Gorton is dirty and horrible. Wish I could go to Yonkers or Saunders.

Gorton High School 3

Posted July 25, 2013
- a student
gorton is/ was a great school i went there for now offically 4 years now gorton could have a better special ed chair and better teacher not all teachers are bad but most like hurting students feelings


Gorton High School 5

Posted October 08, 2011
- a student
Gorton was a great school when I went but sadly due to the horrible run Yonkers Education System, Gorton does not receive, lets say "talented students" anymore, like Yonkers High School and maybe Saunders receive. The last great freshman class came in the Fall of 2003, the school and administration has gotten worse each year. The teachers are truly great and invest a lot of time into children they believe will have bright futures. If you are a student that goes to Gorton and want to do something with your life, I suggest talking to the head of the medical magnet department.

Gorton High School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a community member
This was a great school, it really served it's purpose to help raise me outside my home and mold me into the young man I am today and the man I will be when I get out into the world. I am currently attending school at the College of Westchester and I believe if it were not for the faculty and teachers at Gorton I would not even be alive, let alone on the path I am today.

Gorton High School 2

Posted August 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Gorton High School 1

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gorton High School 1

Posted December 09, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Gorton High School 5

Posted October 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Gorton High School 0
no rating

Posted August 13, 2008
- a student
this school is not so good students get into illegal fights its unsafe but the classes and teachers are good and fun for some students

Gorton High School 5

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gorton High School
100 Shonnard Place, Yonkers, NY  10703
(914) 376-8350
Last modified Gorton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gorton High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top