Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln High School

Public | 9-12 | 1198 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

Well it is terrible I have been here from 10-12 grades and it is just horrible there is fighting stealing and disrespect from the teachers and the students. Their college department is was awful just making everyone apply to these really bad school in terms of education as well as making students depend on the for profit institutes which are the only ones that ever come. My transcript was extreamly late I felt it made a difference of where I got accepted. I got accepted to where I wanted but I feel I could have been better prepared. I could write more. But basically the only thing this school did for me was give me a HS diploma.


Posted September 4, 2010

Lincoln is said t be Yonkers best kept secret...well, it should be a secret. Their are a lot of behavior problems, fghting, $ etc. stolen, most teachers are unimpressive, techers do NOT communicate with parents, and cutting is easy and frequent. The principal just makes excuses for teachers and such and says they do not HAVE to check or respond to email or return parent calls before or after school hours. Horrible experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

i think that school overall is an excellent school due to the fact they have extra curicular activities for evryones own personal interest


Posted September 23, 2009

Lincoln has many different classes.My favorites are forencic and music.Also chemistry
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2008

Lincoln is great. They offer many maijors,after school activities, and the teachers stay after school everyday to help with student needs and there is also saturday school for those who need help. Come to Lincoln You will love it. Lincoln is more than a school it is a best friend
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2007

Lincoln High School for me is the most diverse high school in this district. The school has everything from business to the arts to ROTC. All these magnets are held in very talented hands and they all work together magnificently. The teachers are great, but I have to say that the lunch needs improvment :P.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2006

I belive this school has the best academic programs. The availability of music, art, sports, and other activities are great. There could be more involvement with the parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2005

I think Lincoln is a great school . Keep the good work lincoln students . I think all of you is doing a great job to keep the school up to number 1. Basketball team is winning . What a year all of you are great the teachers. I am so hapy . My children are blessed to such a great school. The teachers are marvelous. What else could a mother ask for her children. I am happy with lincoln perseverance in making the children disciplined and respectful. All the teachers are great and I think the principal is amazingly doing their job. What a school. Always striving to be on top . And without much effort you all are getting there. At last I don't think where Lincoln is at right now can be expressed in words. Perfect school, great teacher, graet discipline, amazing discipine. Basketball team is winning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2005

Lincoln high school needs to get strict on their rules. Too many of the kids are bending the rules and cutting, getting in trouble, etc. They need more after school activites for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

the school is okay but the only program thats any good is the academy of finace. teh level of parent involvemnet is outstanding
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2005

Its a very good school to send your child to in a good enviornment and you will know they are safe and gettin a good education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

I know the school has after school programs to help the students in need of help. As a parent of two students there, I believe things can be improve greatly. A more serious effort should be taken by the adminstration to help these students who are failing in certain classes. These after school program are not cutting it. Students are still failing in Math and other important subjects and have to go to summer school. If a teacher is not doing a good job then you can't have students excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2004

Being part of Lincoln for years, I've seen the school move foward towards an excellant future. The students have a positive attitude to succeed as Lincoln High graduates. I give thumbs-up to the Safety Officers, Teachers, CSEA Staff and Administration for a combined effort that made the school what it is today.


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is a great educational environment for my child . My daughter goes there and she is succeeding and and enjoying learning. The staff is great and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2003

I'm actually a student at lincoln high school.It's a great place to be..i love it here..Lincoln has a nice field and a great atomsphere..we all work together as a team.We wil soon acheive our excellence..I'm trying to graute next year,2004. If i do thats because Lincoln cares.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
13%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
61%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
51%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
42%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students29%
Female15%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant29%

Chemistry

All Students57%
Female58%
Male54%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant57%

Earth Science

All Students54%
Female60%
Male46%
African American51%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities48%
General population54%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%

English

All Students77%
Female83%
Male70%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities40%
General population83%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%

Geometry

All Students58%
Female59%
Male56%
African American51%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%

Global History and Geography

All Students61%
Female63%
Male57%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities32%
General population67%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%

Integrated Algebra

All Students56%
Female56%
Male55%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities27%
General population62%
English language learners35%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%

Living Environment

All Students55%
Female56%
Male53%
African American52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities19%
General population61%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%

Physics

All Students69%
Female75%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant69%

U.S. History and Government

All Students77%
Female81%
Male73%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities27%
General population86%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 58% 23%
Black 1 27% 19%
White 1 11% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 288%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 80%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. EDWIN QUEZADA

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • College/career center
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

375 Kneeland Ave
Yonkers, NY 10704
Phone: (914) 376-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT