Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yonkers Montessori Academy 5

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
All my children go to this school. #1, teachers really care. #2, students really are engaged to the teaching. We've had great teachers up to this point, so we hope it continues. As in any school, your make up of the school is the surrounding area. All indications are this administration is vigilant about who attends this school so as to weed out the bad apples. I am grateful for that. Are there things to improve on? Sure. It's a school taught by imperfect teachers and run by imperfect people. But the administration is responsive and parents feel in the loop. Love this school. The principal takes a lot of pride of craft, and that is very evident.

Yonkers Montessori Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Yes, all the teachers that have been there for my son Jorell since day one and are always there for us parent whenever we need them . Thanks for helping me and my son believe in the education system again . Thanks to you teachers there will be a better world for my son.


Yonkers Montessori Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are the motor that keeps the school going . I believe that at this school they never stop working . They are always available . They have morivated my son on a way that no other schools or teachers were able . The teachers and the school to me are a whole department of education within the school. There is no need to call or visit the Board of education at this school the principal ,assistant principals , the teachers and their support team are able to help you , guide you without any outside interference .

Yonkers Montessori Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Yes, constantly ,the teachers determination to help the student improve is upstanding . The dEtermination and persistent of the teachers at the school have made a positive change in my son education .

Yonkers Montessori Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
From the moment you enter the school to the time of your departure while visiting all uou get is respect .


Yonkers Montessori Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
On an every day basis . Over the years of my son being at the school , I have come to realize that the school has helped to keep the value that we as family teach at home at school in every aspect of my son's life.

Yonkers Montessori Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
My son an example of the school values ,principal and determination . The school teach the student to respect each other, it teach them to be honest . How to become a respectful member of society and how to treat people equal.

Yonkers Montessori Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
It is more than a school , it is a family! "The school goes up mountains for the students not to climb hills"


Yonkers Montessori Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Our daughters transferred to this school in 9th and 6th grade. Since that time our eldest has graduated and is attending an Ivy League College and our youngest is in the top 10 of her class . The support and nurture have been tremendous. This environment is close knitted and comforting. We couldn't have done any better for our girls than enrolling them at YMA.

Yonkers Montessori Academy 2

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
This is an ok school if you like the Montessori way. Some teachers are really useless and cannot handle having 3 grades in the same classroom. (This is only up to 6th grade) others are better. They are extremely inconsistent with security-sometimes you can't get in without id, Even if the staff know u, other times you can go wherever u like with no one asking for anything. Like another reviewer said if you want a big push for academic excellence another school may be better-I am moving my child out. I did not want my 8 year old daughter in a room with 11/12 year olds! They are getting old so young these days.

Nearby schools

Yonkers Montessori Academy
160 Woodlawn Avenue, Yonkers, NY  10704
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (914) 376-8540
Last modified Yonkers Montessori Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top