Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt High School

Public | 9-12 | 729 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2013

Its a great school with great students and teachers.but, the bad nuts are destroying the good foundation of the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2012

I am sad to say that this school is coming to an end next year. I graduated from this school in June of 2011 and i must say that in years that i attended the school i noticed dramatic change towards the end of of my High school years. I was disappointed when i heard the news that Early College High School was gonna share the foundation with RHS and heartbroken when they said they were going to replace Roosevelt in 2013. The teachers and staff there were great, many teachers there were geniuses in my opinion. Unfortunately, the students did a horrible job at representing RHS's good side and gave the school a bad name.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2009

Im Actually going to this school, isnt the best but it helps us a lot. and i am latina when i came to this country i didnt know how to speak english, and they put me in ESL classes which helped me so much. Finally i am a Senior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2008

I went 2 this school for all four years of high school. i must tell the truth it wasnt always the best of times, i was there during its transformation from out of control to a great school. Every student may not appreciate it while there but will love it when its over. It help me alot in the process of becoming the women i am today.


Posted March 26, 2008

I was a student there and its not good.The teachers are good but the kids are what make the school look bad. The books are old and not enough supplies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

This school is very big! There is alot of security at this school. There are signs everyware. Your child will find it very adjustable. All of the teachers are very nice. I liked it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2005

i miss this school. maryland is boring.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

At first I was concerned about Roosevelt's reputation, but after understanding the magnet system, my child fit perfectly into the television production magnet. He could not be any happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
13%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
56%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
24%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
33%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

284 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

305 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
48%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

265 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
44%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students17%
Students with disabilities0%
General population18%

English

All Students66%
Students with disabilities22%
General population72%

Geometry

All Students51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Global History and Geography

All Students43%
Students with disabilities24%
General population45%

Integrated Algebra

All Students45%
Students with disabilities15%
General population49%

Living Environment

All Students56%
Students with disabilities15%
General population60%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students56%
Students with disabilities16%
General population61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 23%
Black 31% 19%
White 9% 48%
Asian 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 73%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JADE SHARP

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

631 Tuckahoe Rd
Yonkers, NY 10710
Phone: (914) 376-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bronxville High School
Bronxville, NY




Tuckahoe High School
Eastchester, NY


Greenburgh Academy
Yonkers, NY


Gorton High School
Yonkers, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT