Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
I posted a review several years ago because I was horrified by the way the principal and teachers handled bullying and other problems. They were awful. One of the teachers saw my son being pushed by another child and encouraged my son to push him back. When my son brought it to my attention, I was in disbelief. When I spoke to the teacher about her actions, she saw nothing wrong. Nonetheless, trying to deal with the principal was even worst. As another parent stated on here, she much rather deal with the easy things than face real challenges. She hides her face beyond the teachers and takes no credit as to why teachers and students behaved in such a way. Shame on you lady!! as a woman, advocator, educator and leader, your skills needed a makeover, and I say needed because I took my son out of that school. I do not know what it is like today, but if that lady is still there, I can only imagine! As far as my son's educational and social status, he is doing excellent. He is very happy, looks foward to going to school and has a wonderful teacher who is very devoted to the children and the pricipal is wonderful and very much involved.

Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
MRS.WETZELS THE BESTEST TEACHER IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD SHE SHOULD BE PAID THE MAX AMOUNT ! I LOVE HER AND MISS HER SOOO MUCH . AND MS.NURRIDEAN AND MS.PEREZ AND MS.WASHINGTON. I WENT TO SA FOR ALL MY ELEMENTARY ND MIDDLE SCHOOL YEARS. I MISS IT " ( - TORI C.M


Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence 5

Posted November 19, 2010
- a community member
OK! this school is a good school that enforces the rules. The principal is good and all of the students are well educated. Like my-self I was a student in Scholastic Academy for Academic Excellence. I recently graduated last year and I can say i was more than prepared for high-school. Maybe a bit too prepared. I learned so much from all of the teachers, but there was one in specific. She goes by the name of Mrs.Wetzel <3 One of the best teachers i've personally ever had. She treated us all as if we were one of her own. She was a mother to all of us. I actually loved her so much i decided to make her my Godmother, She taught me so well for two years that I can right as suffitsicating and with strong vocabulary and the guts to write this letter. I LOVE all of the teachers there! And I have the ball to say im Giovanni Salgado, Graduate of Scholastic Academy for Academic Excellence of 2010!!!!

Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence 5

Posted October 06, 2010
- a community member
i went to this school from kindergarten through eighth grade. i always hated it because i didnt reall ypay attention to all the great things they did for us. now that i left the school and moved away i realized how much i love and miss this school. i wish i were still there. most of the teachers treated us like we were their children, and we didnt realize it. this school had its problem but they did their best to work on them and make class fun. mr.fleshmen is a great teacher but i personally believe that Ms. wetzel, (7th and 8th grade english teacher) was the absolute, without a doubt, best teacher in ever had. i miss her and most of the other teachers so much! i love you guys!

Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence
no rating

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
My kids are there right now and alot of the teachers are very unprofessional and my kids are going there, next year.


Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence 4

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
The principal is very much interested in her students. Mr. Fleshman is the best in the entire school. Overrall my daughter has strived in this school which is the reason I continue to allow her to stay. There are however a handfull of teacher that really don't need to teach if their heart is not in it. I wish that the principal could weed out these teachers and get rid of them. Overrall the school does wonderful with it's students. The students in turn get good scores in ELA english and math.

Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence
no rating

Posted July 02, 2007
- a parent
please note that they have a good teacher named mrFleshman but the principal never knows what is going on.And she only pays attention to only the easy stuff when you help kids you have to help the hard,& simple things with children's education.also when the kids are there they only have 1 security guard for entire school and it is not in a good neighborhood some kids get picked on by other kids in theplayground in the morning & all the teachers don't care they just walk in through the side of building and let it be.

Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence 4

Posted August 14, 2005
- a parent
my son started at this school last year an d I like the school very much but they push for children who do not need special education to attend special education that is not fair and I refuse to do it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence
77 Park Hill Avenue, Yonkers, NY  10701
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (914) 376-8420
Last modified Scholastic Academy For Academic Excellence is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top