Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School 21
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a community member
hi I am a mother of three kids all going in same school. just cursing the stellar reviews, I changed me elder son's school and put him in this school as well. but the results are horrible my son was an honour student but gradually at the end of the year he just got c oh Goodness please share your real experience so it would be a heads up to others. In addition the principle, teachers expect some of them they are such irresponsible. BE CAREFUL people

School 21 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
As a child, I attended PS 21. As a parent, I had no hesitation in sending my two children to PS 21. Located in Lincoln Park, a safe residential area, it houses a multicultural population of students. PS 21 is a community landmark providing our generations of tomorrow with a solid foundation for early childhood education. Core values are initially taught here! The building is clean, & cafeteria/gym well equip. The classrooms are uniquely structured. Student projects dec the hallways and walls. The library with the internet is a computer lab which provides students with programs that are designed to enhance their already existing skills and knowledge. Teachers are involved, active and inspirational. They have shown to interact professionally with students on every level. The principal is caring and dedicated having responsibilities which are endless. PTA plans & guides activities which promote and encourage learning, hanyds on participation and volunteer effort. Mindfulness approach and practice has set the tone for success at PS 21. The school is without a doubt one of the best out there.


School 21 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
PS 21 is my alma mater and school to my 2 children. For 100 years it has served and continues to serve our generations of students some of whom are now our political, economic and social chief executives. The landmark provides early childhood education, the foundation for learning and inculcating good core values for life. The building is clean & renovated, cafeteria/gym well equip, classrooms structured. Student projects dec hallways and walls. Library internet has enriching programs. Professional teachers are involved, active and inspirational. The principal, well respected & approachable improves curriculum goals & motivates teachers. He actually "takes part" in extracurricular activities. PS 21 has special offerings from academics to team sports to after school programs. A strong PTA promotes and encourages learning, hands on participation and volunteer effort. A mindfulness approach and practice has inevitably set the tone for success at PS 21. The school is without a doubt one of the best out there!

School 21 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a teacher
School 21 is in their 4th year as the only mindful school in New York. Teachers and the Principal have been trained by mindful school.org . They boast of a 99% satisfaction level by parents. It's true! For a public education, you can't lose- mindfulness, morals, fun, and learning!

School 21 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school and she doesn't complain. She started this school from 4th grade. Before she came to this school she went to private school. I took her from there becouse the teachers were meen and she was coming home nervous. At PS 21 she became totally a different child. She is very happy and she gets rewards every year. I really recommend this school. I would like to say that School 21 has new auditorium.


School 21 1

Posted June 20, 2013
- a community member
I don't get it. Most of the reviews are stellar but the school has a GreatSchools rating of 2. Something must be wrong that the parents are not talking about. My son might have to go to this school for pre-K in September and I'm seriously thinking of just putting him in a private school instead.

School 21
no rating

Posted April 10, 2010
- a parent
This school has some really sweet teachers but there a few that are really bad. My kids go to this school and they like, it but my son teacher is very impatient and very bossy and if my kids did not like this school so much i would pull them out.

School 21 4

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
My kid has been going there since kindergarten she love's it even better now since it's going to be extended to 6th grade ! I need to find a middle school just as good for her when she is done going here any ideas anyone ?


School 21
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
My son has been going to school 21 and i am very pleased with the results. My son can read very well and very good in math. the teachers are very sweet.

School 21
no rating

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
My son is currently in kindergarten at School 21. I am extremely pleased with this school. My son is reading well, writing well and talks about the new and exciting events held at the school. The teachers and staff are dedicated to the students and am extremely happy with the changes Mr. Hughes implemented. My son's teacher is a no-nonsense person and handles the children very well. I am pleased he gets a lot of homework. It truly stimulates his mind and creativity. Thank you School 21.

Nearby schools

School 21
100 Lee Avenue, Yonkers, NY  10705
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (914) 376-8435
Last modified School 21 is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top