Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kahlil Gibran School

Public | PK-7 | 478 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

Kahlil Gibran Should be getting a higher rating than a three! Compared to other schools Kahlil Gibran did very well on the New York State scores. I have three children invested in the school. Thus far we are very happy with the staff and administration. We have a strong PTA here. My children are happy. We look forward to a successful year ahead!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Some complaints regarding this school are due to the failing system, not the school/staff (eg. no academic support). Schools/YPS have responsibilities, but so do the parents. We also should only account for our own experiences not that of others for fear of inaccuracy. As we write these reviews, I hope we bear that in mind when writing them.


Posted August 11, 2013

This school is great! The teachers are doing a great job! My daughter is very happy that she goes to this school. I hope the rating will go higher, because the school really deserves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

We've been very pleased with the school. The dedicated staff makes all the difference. My daughter is quite happy there, has been there 2 years, and has excelled. Dedicated PTA also a big plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

The rating for this school is based on 2007-2008 test scores .....so don't believe the rating of 2 .....instead I invite you to come and visit this school to see what the recent reviews are all about . We have students transfer from other public and private schools into gibran . This school is from Pre-K to 8th grade .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

This is our first year in Yonkers Public School district. I have two children at Kahlil Gibran - first grade and pre-k. I have to say I am much happier than when they were in a local private school last year. My first grader enjoys learning and made the honor roll. The first thing my pre-k'r does when she gets home is her HOMEWORK!! They are definitely enjoying the whole learning process and their teachers have a whole lot to do with it! I am happy and hope to get more involved with the school. I don't know why the school only got a 2 in it's rating but I hope it goes up! Also, I hope they correct the spelling of the school KHALIL Gibran.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

I have to say ...what a difference when the right Prinicipal is heading our school . Kids are wearing uniforms (and are happy about it ) , the teachers are re - energized, the aides are happy and there is a sense of community . Last year the atmosphere was horrible but the teachers were great .....the school is very clean , safe and diverse. The PTA Rocks .....and if any school is worth fighting for it is this school !Welcome new prinicipal Ms. Dianne White and Asst . prinicpal ......what a difference a year makes !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I didn't have a good experience on my daughter first year, hope for a better one this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

So far so good, but we're really reserving judgement until the little one finishes pre-k. We're also planning on getting more involved this year. I will say this, they do keep us informed and up-to-date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

GIbran is a wonderful school with nurturing and dedicated teachers. This small school provides the children with an excellent education as well as opportunities for extracurricular social activities. The involved parents association energizes the school with countless raffles, school dances, field days etc. The school is small which allows the administration to get to know each child. My daughter, now a Pearls student, was very happy at Gibran. She was well prepared for her transition into the Pearls school. Hopefully the school will become a pre-k - 8th grade school. Sending your child to this school in a great neighborhood is a no brainer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I love the school, the teachers are wonderful...I can't say anything bad about it. I hope Yonkers can find it in their budget to build this school to be a Pre-k to 8th grade school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I loved this school, and so did my Son. Everyone learned his funny personality and just saw things his way. Everyone was a Mommy to him. There are few schools with such a loving staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

I absolutely love this school, I just wish that it will go to 8th grade so my son and daughter can stay here. I don't want to leave, I love the teachers, they all have been incredible and my kids have learned so much. Anyone that pays for Catholic school is crazy, not when you have a school like khalil Gibran and the phenomenal teachers that they have here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

If your child is already doing well academically then it is fine, but I had the worst expierence in this school my children need extraa help and they just did not have enough resources available.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 37% 23%
White 2 30% 48%
Black 1 23% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 159%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 80%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DIANNE WHITE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18 Rosedale Rd
Yonkers, NY 10710
Phone: (914) 376-8580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Family School 32
Yonkers, NY


St Eugene School
Yonkers, NY


Paideia School 15
Yonkers, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT