Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School 29

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 635 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

The only thing I can say good about the school is they have an excellent 8th grade Assistant Principal, Ms. Connally. My son had a terrible year in that building, he had students hat would take his book bag n hide it and/or throw it, he had students bullying him and fighting him, there was also a student who recorded my son in the bathroom and put this on Feb. I put my child in School 29 because I believed it to be a good school..which I found out it was not. I gave all my son's teachers my house, cell and job numbers as well as email addresses and and only 1 contacted me. The principal of the school Ms.Grant does not really know any of the students in the building an I don't see her as a positive leader. I would not recommended this school to anyone to put their child in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about School 29. My daughter has been the honor roll since she began here 5 years ago. The teachers work well beyond there means. This school has not had the best reviews but I know because I am a parent that is very involved with my children's education that its terrific and I would not go anywhere else!!! The teaching does not end when your child gets out of school its our job as parents to keep it up at home!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

This school is fantastic! My son just completed kindergarten. He has learned to read and write this year. My son has made huge strides! The teacher was always available to me if I had any questions. The Principal was great! she runs a tight ship. There are may activities for the students, this also includes after school programs. The administration reaches out to the parents on a consistent basis. The PTA is very active and it works cohesively with the school administration. I am looking forward to my son entering the first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

A lot of boys are perverted here, fights are often. I highly recommend to choose a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

.Alot of the teachers are very demanding and pressure students.The lunch is....HORRIBLE even the teachers and principle knows but we still have to eat it. Alot of the kids are rude but only a few are really nice kid. They teachers barely teach very very very few do. There are no activities ,program or,trips.. Hope to go upstate to actually learn something. The school is dying slowly and the teachers call student "animals" and middle school "the zoo" which we have been treated like


Posted April 29, 2011

I am not at all sad to say that i will be taking my kids out of school 29. First of all the bullying from both students and teachers is ridiculous. There is possibly one teacher in the whole school that is actually capable of teaching children. Mr.Cohen is the only administrator that knows what he is doing. And with that amount of children he cant do much. (i feel for him.) Educationally teachers do not teach. As i said before there are very few that do. The ones that do not are there just to show up and get a paycheck. My advice to anybody that is even thinking about sending their child into this school, i would rather send them to a third-world country then to WHS 29 . Bottom Line it is a horrible school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

I am sad to say that i am taking my son out of 29. There is very little education taking place. There is a lot of bullying and teachers appear frightened of their students. I don't want to blame anyone but the school is a mess that is unable to control its students and educate our children. My son has attended the school since Pre-K and it is very sad that he has to leave. The quality of instruction has declined to the point that my boy's education is generally a book that he takes and reads in school and the Internet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

This school is good for prek becuase there are a great population of well behaved and bright kids. As the kids move up, the better ones are replaced by the less behaved ones, thus the school goes downhill. The principal doesn't seem to be sincere either. There were some good teachers. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

. a good school overall. my son started pre k and within a month he started from zero to full letter recognition,counting and could write his full name. gained confidence in himself. i like this school. every place has weaknesses but overall i will recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

This school is just like every other Yonkers public school, a zoo. My two daughters attend this school and it has been a nightmare. So many of the students are inner city kids who have discipline problems. Unfortunately the administration does not know how to deal with these kids. If you have well behaved, bright children then Yonkers Public Schools is not the place for them. We have decided to move out of Yonkers so our children can get an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

I happen to like the new administration. There is so many of them. The sp ed admin is new, worked in one position and needs guidance and that is where Mrs. Blakney should step in to help him like she has. The elementary AP is very knowledgeable. She comes from a middle school position, she knows how to handle the discipline problems as well parents/teachers. She is tough but fair while being a strong disciplinary who holds people accountable. The middle school AP also comes from a middle school and is also very good. She cares for the students and it is evident through her interactions w/ the teachers. She is very strong minded and good willed. The two female AP's skills are good and they do there homework before talking to parents. The children know the routine from the minute they walk in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

This school is going down the drain. The new administration is horrible. Mrs. Blakeney is not supervising the teachers. Particularly the special needs program it is hurting because of the lack of sensitivity, understanding and proper follow through. SOME of the special needs teachers are cashing a paycheck and babysitting, instead of providing true instruction. The district's push for parental involvement is not genuine and when they get it they don't like it. Its scary that my tax dollars are going for this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

I have a special needs Kindergarten school and a 7th grader in this school. I find that there is a lot of beaurocratic problems. They seem a bit detached from caring if certain students make it or not. The Special needs teachers work well with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Great school for special education but principal is a real pain to work with ,this coming from the VP of the PTA all teachers are wonderful very caring and supportive of students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

I have two children that attend this school. A six grader and first grader. I like this school because the principal is very serious about getting whatever her student need. Supplies or academic help. Thus school is a blue ribbon school so they focus way to much on test scores. Thats where I have a problem with it. the 'No Child Left Behind' policy has put so much pressure on schools to keep scores high that I really don't think that kids are learning anything. I don't think that they are absorbing the work they learn. In this school they are very serious about their scores so alot of homework is given for the students that have to take state test. They crame all this information in the kids brain making learning no fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
11%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 41% 23%
Black 1 31% 19%
White 2 14% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 10% 9%
Two or more races 1 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 76%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROL BLAKNEY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

47 Croydon Rd
Yonkers, NY 10710
Phone: (914) 376-8585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Annunciation School
Tuckahoe, NY


Family School 32
Yonkers, NY


Paideia School 15
Yonkers, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT