Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School 30
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My daughter's teacher this year is Mrs. Parandian. They honestly don't get much better than her. She is absolutely amazing with the children and keeps me very involved as a parent. Her love for the kids, along with her positive attitude, is contagious and refreshing. It so obvious that she loves what she does. We are extremey lucky to have her.

School 30 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This is our second year and we are extremely happy. My daughter enjoys going to school each day. The staff is friendly, supportive, and helpful.


School 30
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 16, 2016
- a community member
I think the teachers in the integrated kindergarten are overwhelmed, not because the class is overwhelming but because they do not have the experience or desire necessary to handle a class with diverging abilities.

School 30
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted March 16, 2016
- a community member
Kindergarten students probably do not benefit from homework. I think the homework sheets were probably useless, boardering on too much too soon.

School 30
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 16, 2016
- a community member
I think that the school (at least the integrated kindergarten)_ presents a very challenging curriculum for its students and if it were a gifted and talented program that it would be ideal. However, as it is not, the curriculum merely makes a large number of children uncomfortable.


School 30 2

Posted March 16, 2016
- a community member
Our child attended the integrated kindergarten program. The class is run like a "gifted and talented" program with children expected to write their names from week 1, a morning message by week 12 and 20 sentences by week 28. The consequence is that while some children will thrive, many will flounder. And those that flounder understandably present with behavioral problems which the school treats by strongly encouraging parents to pull their children from the school. If you are a parent of a special needs child and are considering their integrated kindergarten, run, do not walk, elsewhere. It is really unfortunate, but I can't really say much that is positive about our experience there.

School 30
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
I want thank our loyal and committed PTA volunteers, you show up and help at all events; year after year. Your hard work and dedication doesn't go unnoticed and I'm grateful to everyone who helps out and supports the school.

School 30 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
I can't disagree more with the two negative reviews below. We are very pleased with this school so far. This is my daughters second year here. She came in the 4th grade and the teachers and faculty were very welcoming and nurturing. They are very involved. They actually call me with updates on my daughters progress. The environment is safe and the PTA is very dedicated (although like most PTA's they would benefit from more parents getting actively involved.) If you plan on driving your child there is traffic congestion but that is just because of the circular drive and lack of parking so you need to plan a few extra minutes into your schedule. The school has petitioned for a parking lot but its not in the city budget at this time. This school is a hidden gem and very family oriented. I would highly recommend it.


School 30 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is in a 3rd grade and she has wonderful teacher Mrs. Bash. She is one of the best, my daughter loves to go to this school. School 30 offers afternoon programs, art, music lessons, it's fun. Thank you for beeing such a great school!

School 30 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Terrible school I can't wait for my daughter to leave this school and the staff and the principals are rude and disrespectful the staff needs to be trained on how to handle kids and the assistant principal needs to listen to children's views on things instead of thinking the adults always right I hope when my daughter leaves the school can be fixed to how it was when former principal Davis was there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School 30
30 Nevada Place, Yonkers, NY  10708
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (914) 376-8590
Last modified School 30 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top