Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School 30
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
I want thank our loyal and committed PTA volunteers, you show up and help at all events; year after year. Your hard work and dedication doesn't go unnoticed and I'm grateful to everyone who helps out and supports the school.

School 30 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
I can't disagree more with the two negative reviews below. We are very pleased with this school so far. This is my daughters second year here. She came in the 4th grade and the teachers and faculty were very welcoming and nurturing. They are very involved. They actually call me with updates on my daughters progress. The environment is safe and the PTA is very dedicated (although like most PTA's they would benefit from more parents getting actively involved.) If you plan on driving your child there is traffic congestion but that is just because of the circular drive and lack of parking so you need to plan a few extra minutes into your schedule. The school has petitioned for a parking lot but its not in the city budget at this time. This school is a hidden gem and very family oriented. I would highly recommend it.


School 30 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is in a 3rd grade and she has wonderful teacher Mrs. Bash. She is one of the best, my daughter loves to go to this school. School 30 offers afternoon programs, art, music lessons, it's fun. Thank you for beeing such a great school!

School 30 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Terrible school I can't wait for my daughter to leave this school and the staff and the principals are rude and disrespectful the staff needs to be trained on how to handle kids and the assistant principal needs to listen to children's views on things instead of thinking the adults always right I hope when my daughter leaves the school can be fixed to how it was when former principal Davis was there.

School 30 1

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
Never send your child to this school. Between pre-k and 1st grade your child will get more dedicated and professional teachers. After 1st grade... forget it! Especially in terms of middle school. Mr. Rowitt is the best teacher, otherwise your child will NOT get what he/she needs unless he/she is extremely independent. It was a huge loss for School 30 when Principal K. Davis was sent to PS 24 to clean things up there. PS 30 is over populated, no lockers for middle school age kids (they still use cubbies), Children have been known to be yelled at and pulled into meetings with administration without parents being informed. The list goes on. Warning... Do not send your child here. From, Parents who know first hand


School 30 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful!!! Doing the best they can with limited resources. Afterschool program at school 30 is a plus for working parents.

School 30 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
My kids have been studying in school 30 since 2011. It is a great school and safe for the kids. The teachers are wonderful and hardworking towards the progress of students. The Principal Mr. Sayegh is a symbol of leadership. He always make sure that all conflicts and issues among students especially the middle school students' are solved promptly without any delay. He is also very serious about the studies of all the students of school 30.

School 30 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school .My son has been going to school 30 from 1st grade, the teachers have been excellent through out.


School 30 2

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
My child was lucky to have an excellent 1st grade teacher, who was amazing and caring. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the principal leadership.

School 30 3

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been attending School 30, Yonkers since Kindergarten. She's in the 3rd grade. The teachers are terrific and tough. The principal Ms. Davis, well lets just say she doesn't stand up for the teachers. When it comes to bullying, the school gets no stars from me. My daughter is being bullied by a student in her class and still it continues. Nothing is being done with the countless complaints. Ms. Davis is the worst principal school 30 could ever have. She supports the bullied child instead of the victim. Which is a shame.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School 30
30 Nevada Place, Yonkers, NY  10708
(914) 376-8590
Last modified School 30 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
School 30 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top