Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Paul The Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 199 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yonkers

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $379,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2014

I have a daughter at this school since 2006 and she is growing up to be a well rounded young lady. She is respectful and excels academically. I have nothing bad to say about the school, teachers, nor the Principal. It is worth every penny! My daughter feels right at home at St. Paul School and so do I. All the children are treated equally and each class is like a family. I would refer this school to everyone. Thank you St. Paul's for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

My sons started in St Paul's this year. I cannot say enough great things about the school. It really feels like family. You will not find any bullying in St. Paul's as it just wouldn't be tolerated. My biggest regret is I didn't pull my sons out of Y.M.A sooner as it like 2 different worlds, and the caring and compassion that is taught daily as well as academics is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I graduated from this school almost 10 years ago and attended from p-k all the way through 8th grade and I have to say that it was the worst experience of my life. It is EXTREMELY cliquy and no matter how left out a student becomes the teachers don't pay any mind to it. The principal is horrible and shows extreme favoritism. Because you're with the same group of kids for 8+ years it makes it very easy for certain students to be picked on an bullied. If there is a group of bad seeds in the class /everyone/ gets punished, not just the troublemakers. It saddens me that my childhood is full of such horrible memories caused this school, its students, and its staff. Speaking of the staff, they have no idea what they're doing. If you want your kids to be taught by subpar teachers who barely now what they're doing then send them here. The 8th grade teacher is the worse. She taught me absolutely nothing and barely prepared me for my transition to high school. Take it from someone who was on the inside, DO NOT SEND YOU KIDS HERE. I know I won't.


Posted April 29, 2013

This is our second year at this school ,and I had not planned to go there ,but couldn't get the public school I wanted...I'm soo delighted with it...no one gets treated different,the principal is very professional yet compassionate and always has time to listen to your concerns.they have a high standard in all areas which I love and tolerate no bullying.i feel my son is growing up to be a lovely boy ,also the parents have made us feel soo welcome...I would highly reccomend St. Paul's to anyone ,my daughter is starting now,I would not even consider any other school...well done mrs mallardi and her fun professional loving staff!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

Great School! Great teachers, principal and staff! I'm delighted we choose this school for our daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

One of the best kept secrets in Yonkers. Excellent and outstanding school. Faculty and other parents are one big loving family who help all students with love and affection for their future lives.Wide and diverse in offerings including computer,Spanish,music and living. Assistance for high school selections and the evidence of those having scholarships and acceptance into premier schools - both high school and college prove evident of the strong foundation instilled in the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I am a former student of the school. St. Paul's isnt perfect, but no school is. Yes, there were times where I was counting the days until graduation but looking back on it, I am very glad that I went to SPS for 10 years. Overall, you will get a great education at SPS and it will prepare you for high school very well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

My son did not like the school. The Principal was annoying and favor those students that volunteer. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

A couple of years ago I went to St. Pauls. when my other school closed. I hated it . I felt left out, the children were very clicky. The principle favored some students, parents and teachers. The teachers also favored some students and parents. I am glad I am in another school now where the children make me feel welcome as a new student. Do not put your child in this school. I mean it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

st paul the apostle was so educational. it is worth every penny! great teachers and great parish! i loved this school. it taught me education and disipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

Great School! The kids are very polite and well discipline we must remember that discipline begins at home. My daughter is very happy to be a student at St. Paul the Apostle. The teacher s in this school are very dedicated and professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

Terrible preschool program; you can hear the teacher yelling from outside the school building. The teacher/student ratio is the highest the state will accept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

After a couple of months in this school St.Paul the Apostle, was the devestating year for my child. Very inappropriate girls and boys. The principal did not care about the new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2007

My son attended St Paul's from pre=k through the 8th grade and I'm glad that he did. He made friends that will last a lifetime, and developed the foundation of discipline that pepared him well for high school and beyond. The staff is terrific and like most lay professionals, under paid and under appreciated. They did a great job with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

As a former pupil of this school, all I have to say is I absolutely loved the school. I had the best time of my life there and made many friend that I know will last a lifetime. The teachers are caring and very intelligent and all the classes are small so it is much easier to learn. If I could, I'd go back and learn at that school any day.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 23, 2006

You do not get a great education compared to the other schools in Yonkers, nor prepares you well for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

This is a good school for your child to learn and fun.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2006

Although the school is a bit small, it focuses on discipline and success in its students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2005

I am not a parent from this school however I am a past pupil. I attended St. Pauls from 1988-1998 and to be honest they were the the best years. Not only were we encouraged to befriend our fellow classmates but we were also allowed to mingle with other classes and I dont think I am wrong in saying that all past pupils knew most of the fellow students in the school. As for paretal involvement they met up more often than the kids and close bonds were made by the parents also. We were all involved in school activities such as music classes, concerts, art class,and a wide variety of sports. Academically I would say that St. Pauls is rated high on my scale. As a student in my final year of college I feel that St. Pauls provided me with a wonderful foundation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 6, 2005

After third grade everything went downhill. Because the students are together so long they get very 'clicky' and do not treat each other with respect. The few teachers who acknowledged the problem did nothing about it. The only good teacher left, and the principal plays favorites with students and parents. There are hardly any extracurricular activities, the music program ended about 8yrs. ago, and besides coloring and making cards, there is no art program.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 52%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 5% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Grace Mallardi
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

77 Lee Avenue
Yonkers, NY 10705
Phone: (914) 965-2165

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School 21
Yonkers, NY




School 13
Yonkers, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT